Things That all Book lovers Fear

There are certain things that book lovers fear above all else. Things that send us spiraling into insanity at the thought of them happening and having to talk to a fellow fangirl to get the fear out of your system. Even this post was pretty hard to write and just thinking of these situations made me cringe and my hands shake. So if you can stand to read them, here are some of the things that I think all book lovers fear.

 

Loaning out books and not getting them back.

This is the worst thing in the world. I desperately want to force people to read my favorite books but I’m always so scared that I won’t get my copy back, even from the people I trust with my life (plus I really miss my books when they’re gone, it’s like a piece of my soul is missing).

 

People dog earing pages.

I don’t even understand how a person could be such a monster that they do this to their books. They are the equivalent of Voldemort, or the King of Hybern! But seriously people there are bookmarks for a reason! And if you don’t have a bookmark just use a receipt, or a sock or your cat or anything except folding the pages!! (because even when you unfold it THERE IS STILL A CREASE!)

 

Spilling food or a drink onto my book.

This fear is always nagging at the back of my head when I am snacking whilst reading. The fear that my glass of water might somehow slosh over the side and onto my book, ruining and crinkling it’s pages forever (eyes widen in panic at this possible scenario)

 

Running out of books to read

Let’s be honest, this is a pretty irrational fear because bookworms are always buying books even when they have 20 to read, but we still fear it!

 

Dying without reading all the books on your TBR

This is pretty much the opposite of the last point but I am so scared that I might die with a whole list of books I want to read, or worse die before finishing the book I am currently reading (or dying before an author finishes writing a series. I suspect if I made it to heaven and found out I had died before ACOTAR 3 came out I would probably die again from the horror of it!)

 

 

Forgetting important details in a series before the next book comes out

and feeling like you are failing the series and new book because you are not reading it to it’s full potential.

But seriously, I can’t reread all of Sarah J Maas’ books every year when a new one comes out because I have other books I want to read, so I just improvise and hope that the really important stuff is recapped (and really, Fleetfoot surviving and Rhys and Feyre being the ultimate OTP is all I need to remember anyway. Oh and how to spell Aelin Ashryver Galathynius without thinking).

 

Cliffhangers at the end of a book

We all know this one. When you’re reading an absolutely amazing book but it isn’t the last book in a series, so there isn’t a guarantee of it ending smoothly. There’s the possibility that the author might be a cruel and evil goblin that ends the book in a massive cliffhanger. So when you are reading that amazing book, you really want to finish it, but the closer you get to the end, the more scared you are about a character being killed or captured or separated from their loved ones. So you start reading slower and slower as the sweat pours down your brow at the likely hood of you having to wait a whole year to find out what happens to your beloved characters.

 

Those are some of the things that I personally fear as a book lover. What things do you fear? Are there any that I have missed? Let me know in the comments!

10 thoughts on “Things That all Book lovers Fear

  1. Oh my gosh, I’m terrified of spilling food or drink on my books! It’s really hard to avoid too, since I’m generally such a klutz :/ Doesn’t stop me from eating while reading though. I guess it’s just a bad habit that I have to grow out of? Or maybe I just need to be a tad more careful aha
    Fleur @ FranklyBooks just postedMetaphors and Death | Calamity by Brandon Sanderson

    Like

    1. I think drink is worse than food because you can’t just brush it off! Whenever I eat or drink while reading I hold my book at arm’s length so I have less chance of spilling! The things we do for books!😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I RELATE TO ALL OF THESE SO MUCH AGH. Especially forgetting books before the next in the series comes out. *facepalm* I almost wish books were published with mini-recap-synopsises in the front so I could catch up withotu crying and trying to remember haha. AND OMG I AM CONSTANTLY TERRIFIED OF RUNNING OUT OF BOOKS. It’s totally irrational but I can’t help it!!😂

    Like

    1. OMG that is such a good idea!!! They could have something similar to the “previously on…” That TV shows have!! I know some authors sort of recap in the first few chapters but most if them don’t!!!! WE NEED THIS TO BE FIXED! I feel like book lovers just come wired with this fear imbedded in them, despite how irrational it is!!😂

      Like

    1. Haha I’m so glad it’s relatable! Yes I do! It’s @madnessbooksandspoons but it’s also linked on my blog! Do you have one???

      Like

      1. Oo I’ll go find you! I had so much trouble with the widget as well but somehow the other day I got it to work!

        Like

Leave a Reply

