Spooky Book Recommendations from someone who doesn’t read Spooky Books

Okay, so this post is going to be sort of awkward and I don’t really know where I’m going with it so just enjoy the ride as I make stuff up as I go along. In Australia we don’t really do Halloween but it is becoming more popular as the years go by. I didn’t really register that today was Halloween until this afternoon and I decided that I would try and write this post. My plans for Halloween is to maybe watch Supernatural while eating a Terry’s Chocolate orange. That’s about as tricky and treaty and spooky as it gets for me. I also don’t really read spooky/ horror books; I tend to read more fantasy and sci-fi. But over the past couple of years I have read a few books that I really enjoyed that sort of fitted into the Halloween/ spooky book category. So here goes nothing as I try to remember spooky books I read a while ago.

                                                missperegrinecover

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

To be honest, every bookdragon and their worm has probably heard of this series by now because of the movie but I’m gonna mention it anyways because I really love it. I still need to read the last book in this series and do a reread of the first two since I read Miss P back in 2012 but it still holds a special place in my heart. It’s so different and wacky and creepy but AMAZING! I don’t even know what genre it could be classified under but I love how it has a bit of an X-Men vintagy horror feel given all the peculiarities that the children have. Combined with the photos and eerie rhymes that go with them, this series is just a wonderful package tied up with slightly messed up but addictive string. GO READ IT NOW!

                                              anna-dressed-in-blood

Anna Dresses in Blood by Kendare Blake

This is probably the book on this list that fits into the horror category the most (you can probably tell by the title). This series is about ghosts and ghost hunters, and ghost hunters who fall in love with the ghosts they’re hunting. Sounds good right? And don’t worry it isn’t by any means just a love story, since it has blood and mystery and parts that kept me up at night. That’s about all I remember but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. PLUS, isn’t that cover gorgeous in a creepy kind of way?

                                                11408650

The Mara Dyer Trilogy by Michelle Hodkin

I read the first two books in this series each in one day because of how hooked I was on them. This series is so amazing and Noah Shaw has basically ruined me for any real men because of how perfect he is. These books definitely cover the horror genre with quite a bit of mysterious blood, death and gore. It also has asylums, Ouija boards, and links to the past and Mara’s ancestors. It covers a lot of the psychological aspects that some horror books have which I found fascinating but creepy. With lots of amazing quotes and some laugh out loud moments to go with the horror aspect, I would definitely check this series out.

lockwood2_4000

Lockwood and Co The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud

Again, I read the first book in this series a long time ago and was waiting for the next books to come out but forgot about them so now I need to binge read the whole series at some point. I remember that I really loved the first book though. This book is set in the Victorian era and is focused around the most ramshackle psychic agency In London. Agencies exist because of a ghost epidemic that occurred 50 years ago, and the country has been battling ever since. The people at Lockwood and Co have to spend a night in the most haunted house In England after a case goes wrong. This book kept me up most of the night reading and was hilarious but haunting at the same time. I can’t wait to reread it and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a spooky read.

51yffk7djkl-_uy250_

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

This book centres on a boarding school in London and a series of murders that are exactly the same of those of Jack the Ripper. Rory, a girl who moves to the school follows the mystery along with several others who sense that something isn’t quite right. This series is also full of ghosts and gore and mayhem and also a lot of cool history due to its ripper vibes.

 

I hope you enjoyed reading how I awkwardly struggled to remember good spooky books I read a long time ago. But really, despite my probably bad description, all of these books are amazing, and that’s coming from somebody who doesn’t read horror.

 

Have you got any Halloween book recommendations for me? And do you have any plans for Halloween (they can totally be just eating candy and watching Hotel Transylvania) let me know in the comments!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spooky Book Recommendations from someone who doesn’t read Spooky Books

    1. Aha i think i will always scream in joy when i see Mara Dyer (especially NOAH!). I’m so excited for Noah’s trilogy because that is just going to be SO amazing i need more of him!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

