Top 5 Wednesday November 9- Characters You Used to Love But Don’t Anymore

 

So after seeing a couple of blog posts around linking up with weekly memes, I decided to give one a try and I think I will definitely be continuing with them!

They are so fun! Top Five Wednesday is hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes and If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page! This week’s theme is ‘Characters you used to love but don’t anymore’. 

These are the characters who you used to adore, but now you don’t. Maybe they changed a lot. Maybe you outgrew them. Maybe your outlook changed and now you can’t stand them. Maybe you don’t even hate them, you just are neutral about them when you used to run a fan blog about them. 

I thought this would be a really hard one to do but after having a think I realised there are some characters that I don’t hate or even dislike now, I just don’t love them like I used to and I’m pretty neutral about them.

 

Chaol- The Throne of Glass Series

In the first two books I really loved Chaol. I thought he was the one. TBH I can’t really remember him from Heir of Fire, but I know even then he had changed a bit and become a bit bitter. In Queen of Shadows I really did not like the guy, especially for a couple of things he said to Aelin. Towards the end of the book I started to like him again, and want good things for him again but I don’t love him like I used to, and I’m okay with that. I am curious to see what his role in book 6 will be though is since he wasn’t in Empire of Storms.

 

Tris-Divergent Series

When I first got into young adult I went through a stage when I devoured faery and angel novels (Hush Hush, Wings, Need, Fallen…you get the gist). Then I really got into dystopian. I really love The Hunger Games and Divergent series and they will always hold a special place in my heart, but I’m not as obsessed as I used to be. I think although I really enjoy Tris as a character, looking back at when I read the series, she does have some flaws and things that annoy me, that I didn’t quite notice when I read the series (I know Katniss had them too but for some reason everything she went through seemed more than what Tris went through. I think because she didn’t have any choice in the games and was a lot more traumatized in some ways).

 

Tamlin-A Court of Thorns and Roses Series

Come on guys, we all knew this was coming. If you’ve read ACOMAF you know how much the love for Tamlin just turns into the complete opposite. I can’t imagine how Sarah must have felt having to write him so perfect in the first book and watch us all love him, only to know what she had in store for ACOMAF. Still, I’m not complaining because RHYSAND!!!

 

Mare- Red Queen

When I read Red Queen I absolutely loved it and it felt so different from other books I’d read. I thought Mare was a really great character and so was Cal. I still do love the series but Glass Sword wasn’t as great as Red Queen and was a bit more dystopian than the mix of genres it had previously been. Mare and Cal did annoy me at times during the book, but I am still looking forward to seeing how the trilogy ends! Especially after that cliffhanger!

 

Augustus Waters- The Fault in Our Stars

A couple of years back, I was absolutely obsessed with John Green. I still seriously adore his quotes and novels but I’ve mellowed a bit and I think the past few years I’ve realized that although I’ll read just about any genre if the book is good, fantasy is my all time favorite. Augustus used to be one of my favorite book boyfriends but now he isn’t so much. I think since getting sick, some of his outlooks on like frustrate me because of his need to be known and remembered when that is not something I need for my life, I just want to make an impact on the lives of the people who know me. I also think he got knocked down the book boyfriend list because of Noah Shaw and all of Sarah J Maas’ lovely men. Just saying… Sorry Gus.

 

Are there any characters that you don’t love like you used to? Are there any of my choices that you absolutely love? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday November 9- Characters You Used to Love But Don’t Anymore

  1. My secret shame ~ I used to loveeeeeeeeeee fallen angel books and Patch used to be my favourite, even though he had hell hairy armpits on the cover of the first book ahhahha. Seriously, he could make coats out of those things if he shaved em’.

    Like

    1. Oh my god i forgot about this series! Don’t worry, i went through that faze too and Patch was one of my ultimate book boyfriends (clearly i hadn’t heard of Rhysand yet). The covers for those books were so weird and dramatic though. OMG we could make a coat for his girlfriend (i can’t remember her name), i’m sure she’d love it)

      Like

Leave a Reply

