Top 5 Wednesday November 30th- Favourite Villains

Top Five Wednesday is hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes and If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page! This week’s theme is Favourite Villains and i’m really excited to do this one!

It’s been a little while since we’ve done the villain topic, and this one will definitely be a recurring one in the group as there are always new villains to talk about. I STRONGLY ENCOURAGE YOU TO AVOID HARRY POTTER CHARACTERS!!!! Yes, yes, we all know that Umbridge is the ultimate villain, more hated than Voldemort because she is so realistic. We know that we all love Bellatrix’s particular kind of crazed obsession. We all know that Voldemort is such a classic that he is the first person to jump into our minds. We all know the Dursley’s suck. See? I strongly encourage you to point out some different villains so that Harry Potter doesn’t dominate all the lists. Because as much as we love HP, it does get a little redundant. *jumps off soapbox*

So, this is me avoiding Harry Potter for this topic (although I’m not sure I was going to use it anyway) and trying to think of some of my favourite villains (you should all be super proud of me for using ones that don’t all come from Sarah J Maas books!). I’m actually really disappointed I haven’t finished A Darker Shade of Magic because I feel like it’s going to have an amazing villain. Oh well, next time…

9781447279990alice-s-adventures-in-wonderland51L9OpRzjIL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Queen of Hearts (Both in Splintered series by A.G. Howard and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll) 

I adore anything Alice in Wonderland so it was no surprise that I loved the Splintered series by A.G. Howard. The portrayal of the Queen of Hearts in this book was awesome and gave her a MUCH more sinister twist than the original novel. I love the Queen of Hearts from the original Alice as well, but she kind of reminds me of a kitten screaming in all caps comic sans; I feel like I could just pick her up, pat her on the head, and stick her in a jar away from all the ‘harm’ she could do. Still, she’s mad and although no one ever really gets beheaded, she does want to chop off an awful amount of heads.

 eos-cover

Maeve (Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J Maas)

I know Maeve isn’t the major baddy in the series because Erawan is supposed to be taking that lead given his mission, but we all know that we actually hate Maeve more given her actions in Empire of Storms. She’s evil, and nasty and worse than the worst bitch there is, kinda like Umbridge, so she had to come on this list. Even though I want to set her on fire and roast marshmallows while I watch, she is a great villain.

27362503

Ryle  (It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover)

Now given that he comes from a contemporary, he isn’t exactly a villain. But he was one of those people that really took a turn and the type of person that I hate with all my guts. But the way he was written I felt heartache and pity for him too and I hated his parents more to be honest for turning him into the person he became (if you’ve read the book you’ll know what I mean). His character and his role in the plot line was written so well ,so even though he isn’t your standard villain, I really wanted to include him.

sixofcrows

The Fjerdans  (Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo)

I finished Six of Crows two days ago and it completely and utterly stole my heart. The Fjerdans however did not. I’m choosing to use this race rather than one villain, although their commander Jarl Brum was a nasty piece of work.

I LOVED the Fjerdans as a group of villains and they were so twisted in their beliefs and customs but unfortunately all too real given their resemblance to the Nazis and their hatred against the Jews. The Fjerdans hunted down Grisha simply because they had power and saw them as monsters, whilst the Grisha looked at the Fjerdans as monsters as well. What they do to the Grisha is awful but I really want to read more about these people to see how they got the way they did. Such an interesting ‘villain’ and definitely one of my new favourites.

holmes

Moriarty (Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle)

So I haven’t actually read the Sherlock Holmes novel that has Moriarty in it but I have read some of the books so that counts right? And I’ve rewatched the BBC Sherlock series and the Sherlock Holmes movies, so many times it definitely counts (who’s tearing their brains out waiting for Sherlock season 4? ME!). No matter what form Moriarty comes in he’s always brilliantly portrayed and completely psychotic and evil, but I LOVE HIM! He’s the perfect villain because he’s funny and classy and so deranged I can almost see his reasons for doing what he does.

 

And a sneaky extra bugger that isn’t exactly evil but deluded, self-righteous, obsessive and abusive. The winner is… TAMLIN THE TOOL.

Those are my picks for this weeks Top 5 Wednesday although there are many other villains that I could have chosen. Who are your favourite villains?

 

Leave a Reply

