Review: Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell

 

screen-shot-2016-10-29-at-10-05-48-pm

 

Author: Dallas Coryell

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Release date: June 24th 2016

Published By: AsherRain Publications

Page count: 305

Stand-alone Novel

Rating: 4 Stars!

 

Synopsis

“His eyes settled on her…piercing green embers of flame that revealed the ferocity of his pain and passion, yet still shrouded him under veils of ever deepening mystery that made every ounce of her ache to unravel him.”

Tegan Lockwood’s dreams were dead, sacrificed on the noble altar of duty before they ever had a chance to live. Her entire existence was disappearing into the abyss of apathy as she labored her days away keeping her family’s struggling business alive. There would be no emotion, no color, no beauty in her life. That is, until a mysterious visitor begins to draw her out of the darkness of her past towards something that will challenge the boundaries of her world, and unlock the most deeply held secrets of her heart.

 

I was sent a copy of this novel from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

This book centres on Tegan Lockwood, a young women who works at her family’s manor holiday house in England, where they have guests staying all through summer to pay for the huge upkeep of the property. Tegan works hard to keep herself busy, but because of some events in her past she has pretty much stopped believing in love. One summer, her family is notified that Mason Keane, a huge American singer will be staying with them to get away from his busy and overwhelming life. Tegan wants nothing to do with him, but comes to realize over time that there is sometimes more to a person than you first believe.

 

I really really enjoyed this book. I went into it with pretty much no expectations but I was very pleasantly surprised once I had finished. After finishing Empire of Storms, I had one of the biggest book hangovers ever but Melody’s Key managed to pull me out of it almost straight away and I really wish I had this book after reading ACOMAF.

This book pulled me in from the start and Tegan was instantly a very relatable character. She was withdrawn and nerdy, but also sarcastic and was willing to speak her mind, even if it came out awkwardly sometimes. I could also relate to her love of tea, old movies and books; I feel like we would get on well!

I was so pleased when Mason came into the picture that there wasn’t any insta-love between him and Tegan, although the hatred at the start did seem a little bit forced at times.

I loved watching how their relationship developed over the weeks and how Mason became more at home and a part of the Lockwood family.

Mason was such a sweet and caring man. He definitely proved that people shouldn’t ‘judge a book by its cover’, because there was a lot revealed about him that showed how different he was from what the media portrayed.

The book was very family orientated and gave me all the happy feels because of this. I loved how close Tegan and her siblings were, especially Tegan’s teasing relationship with her sister Ryleigh, which I could relate to with my own sisterly figure. The family moments and traditions were adorable, especially the Sunday Night Pancakes tradition which had my mouth watering (I’m so tempted to start this with my parents).

Tegan’s relationship with her best friend Simon was awesome as well, and I loved the fact that he was gay but it didn’t feel forced like it does in some books these days. Him and Tegan got on really well and always had each other’s backs, given that they were somewhat of outcasts in their town. The one thing I would have liked to see with Simon would have been to have his storyline develop a bit more. We learned of his mysterious relationship and I was looking forward to finding out more, but then it sort of hit a dead end and was forgotten about towards the end of the book. He was still a hilarious character though and I’m glad he was included in the novel.

I am a sucker for anything set in England as it’s my favorite place in the world so I was definitely in my happy place reading this book and all the wonderful scenery and places in it. The historical element in the novel was intriguing as well, due to the old love letters Tegan found from a soldier in World War I and her great grandmother. I loved watching that plot line unravel alongside Tegan and Mason’s and how they contrasted really nicely.

The whole book had a very whimsical and beautiful feel and I think part of this was because of all the songs that were in the book. Every time one came up I got the song up on Dallas’ YouTube channel so I could listen as I read it. This was so much better than when I usually read lyrics in books because I didn’t have to try and make up an awkward tune in my head to go with them.

Given how talented Tegan was supposed to be at art I would have liked to see more of that featured in the novel, but given it is musically orientated I do understand why it wasn’t a major focus. I also would have liked a bit more of a resolution to the issues in Tegan’s past as I strongly feel that they should have been dealt with given the severity of them (I’m not going to go into it more as I don’t want to spoil the book).

Despite some of the small problems in this book I was extremely impressed given that it is Dallas’ debut novel and he was writing from a female perspective, which most of the time was pretty accurate. Melody’s Key was very enjoyable and cute and had me thinking about it even when I wasn’t reading it. I gave this book 4 stars and definitely recommend this book, especially for happy summery feels or as a book hangover cure!

 

The book is available here on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Melodys-Key-Dallas-Coryell-ebook/dp/B01HK4DVO0

And this is the Goodreads page which also has my review: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30807954-melody-s-key

2 thoughts on “Review: Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell

Leave a Reply

