Christmassy Books to read this December

As a Christmas lover, I have to say, there are very few YA books that are set at Christmas or that are centered around Christmas. The past few years I’ve had to do some serious researching to find some books and even then there were only a couple. This year a few more have come out so I thought I would do a post that features all of them so if you are like me and are looking for a holiday book to read this December you can just look at this list! I’ve read a couple of the books on this list but not all, so I’m hoping to read a few more this Christmas!

9781595145512.jpg

What light by Jay Asher

Sierra’s family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon—it’s a bucolic setting for a girl to grow up in, except that every year, they pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other. 

Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life eclipses the other.

By reputation, Caleb is not your perfect guy: years ago, he made an enormous mistake and has been paying for it ever since. But Sierra sees beyond Caleb’s past and becomes determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe, redemption. As disapproval, misconceptions, and suspicions swirl around them, Caleb and Sierra discover the one thing that transcends all else: true love.

 I’ve ordered a copy of this book from Book Depository so hopefully it arrives in time for me to read it for Christmas. As someone who gets a real Christmas Tree every year and loves the experiences, this book sounds amazing and I would love to have grown up on a Christmas tree farm (I’m very jealous of Taylor Swift). I’m really looking forward to reading this one!

dash-lilys-book-of-dares-rachel-cohn-david-levithan.jpgdash2.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dash and Lily books 1 and 2 by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

“I’ve left some clues for you.

If you want them, turn the page.

If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

 So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

 This little duology is one I’ve seen around recently since the second book was released this year and many people really enjoy the series. I haven’t quite worked out if the first book is about Christmas but I know that the second book definitely is. They look really sweet and fun and I look forward to reading them at some point, maybe next Christmas or Christmas in July.

 20309175.jpg

My true love Gave to Me by Multiple Authors

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins. Whether you enjoy celebrating Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or New Year’s there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love.

 I’ve been wanting to get to this book for a couple of years now and although I don’t think I’ll get to read it this Christmas I’m going to make sure I have a copy ready to read next December as I love a lot of the authors and it just sounds magical.

 71Gki0y4plL.jpg

Let it Snow

Sparkling white snowdrifts, beautiful presents wrapped in ribbons, and multicolored lights glittering in the night through the falling snow. A Christmas Eve snowstorm transforms one small town into a romantic haven, the kind you see only in movies. Well, kinda. After all, a cold and wet hike from a stranded train through the middle of nowhere would not normally end with a delicious kiss from a charming stranger. And no one would think that a trip to the Waffle House through four feet of snow would lead to love with an old friend. Or that the way back to true love begins with a painfully early morning shift at Starbucks.

 I read this book a couple of years ago at Christmas because of my love of two of the authors and It was really cute. I loved how although the stories were all short, they all connected in the end which sort of made one bigger story. It was light and fluffy which is definitely what I want at Christmas time, because other genres can get stressful and heavy.

 Zoe_Sugg_-_Girl_Online.jpg

Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

I had no idea GirlOnline would take off the way it has – I can’t believe I now have 5432 followers, thanks so much! – and the thought of opening up to you all about this is terrifying, but here goes…

Penny has a secret.

Under the alias GirlOnline, she blogs about school dramas, boys, her mad, whirlwind family – and the panic attacks she’s suffered from lately. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets the gorgeous, guitar-strumming Noah. Suddenly Penny is falling in love – and capturing every moment of it on her blog.

 But Noah has a secret too. One that threatens to ruin Penny’s cover – and her closest friendship – forever.

Although this blurb doesn’t mention Christmas at all, a lot of it is in fact set at Christmas time and during winter. I read this book last Christmas and it was so adorable and the perfect light happy read for the season. I’m planning to start the third book this Christmas as well and continue the cute story of Penny and Noah!

9781408855652

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

Although the Harry Potter books aren’t necessarily set at Christmas all the time or are Christmas books they always feel like the perfect book to read during the holidays. I think the whole magical and nostalgic feel is similar to that of Christmas and just feels me with a hope that comes from something so familiar and wonderful, especially the first two books when Harry is young. I hope this isn’t just me.

 These are all the books i’ve found that are about Christmas and i hope my list is useful but if you have any other books about Christmas or have read any of these I would love to know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

