Top 5 Wednesday December 14th-Series that got worse with each book/season

It’s that time of the week again Top Five Wednesday is hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes and If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page! This week’s theme is series that got worse with each book or season and we were allowed to include TV series in the list. I had trouble thinking of these as I tend to not really think about books that I didn’t enjoy. I did however manage to come up with 5 and they ended up being books because I couldn’t really think of TV shows that have gotten bad.

 Red_Queen_book_cover.jpg

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

I really enjoyed Red Queen and thought the combo of science fiction and fantasy was really unique and awesome. I was so excited for Glass Sword but was slightly disappointed as it wasn’t as good as Red Queen and took on a more dystopian feel. Mare also become annoying and it took me a while to finish because of the slow pace it had at some points. It did however pick up towards the end and I am still excited for King’s Cage to come out so I can see how the story ends and if it picks up again.

Divergent_(book)_by_Veronica_Roth_US_Hardcover_2011.jpg

Divergent by Veronica Roth

I read this series a while ago and thought Divergent was really good when I was going through a huge dystopian phase. Insurgent was also good but not as enjoyable as Divergent. When Allegiant came out I was excited but the book really didn’t live up to the rest of the series. It wasn’t the plot twist at the end that I didn’t like, but the plot line went very weird and the characters got frustrating and annoying. I may reread them at some point to see what my opinion is the second time round but I have gone off dystopian a bit.

 grid-cell-1831-1372864859-6.jpg

Matched by Ally Condie

I think I read this back in 2013 and although the first book wasn’t my favorite in the world I did still enjoy it (again this was during my dystopian phase). The second book was much worse than the first and the love story was very frustrating. I think I then got about 20 pages into the last book before I finally gave up and marked it as did not finish which was disappointing

anna-dressed-in-blood

Anna Dressed in Blood

I really enjoyed this little duology and I was so keen to read the second book after the cliffhanger of the first. I had never really read horror/ ghost stories before but Anna Dressed in Blood had me staying up all night waiting to see what happened. Although Girl of Nightmares was still interesting and followed on, there were some aspects that disappointed me and it ended on a bit of a low in my opinion.

The-Vampire-Diaries-Season-8-Extras.jpg

The Vampire Diaries

So although I’m using this one I still do watch the show and I do still secretly love it. I think because it’s one of the cheesiest shows I watch so I can just zone out a bit. It started off really good and had a period where it got worse again and then it got a bit better. I’m in the process of starting season 7 because I do want to finish it but I think Season 7 is going to be dodgy and I am glad they are finally wrapping it up with Season 8 because although I love the characters, I think so many TV shows keep going when they don’t really have any storyline left and I think TVD has hit that point where they are running out of ideas. I just hope I like the end of Season 8 and my favorite characters end up happy and not too cheesy!

 

Those were my picks for this week’s Top 5 Wednesday and it was kind of weird to think about books and shows that went downhill. Usually we talk about the positives. What shows or books do you think have gotten worse with time? I would love to know!

Leave a Reply

