Goodbye December…

 

Goodness, December has absolutely flown by! I can’t believe it’s the end of the year already; I am totally not prepared for this! December is probably my all time favourite month even though it’s the busiest as I absolutely love Christmas!

 

Books I read this month

Although this month was super busy I managed to get two books read which were both really good. I’m also currently half way through Girl Online Going Solo so I will most likely finish it a couple of days into the new year.

23403402-_uy200_

The first book I finished was A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab and it was incredible. I can’t believe I haven’t read any of Victoria’s book before and I’m now so excited to continue the series as well as get into some of her other novels.

9781595145512

The second book I read was What Light by Jay Asher and it was perfect for the festive season. I read it the week around Christmas which added to my Christmassy vibes and it was so lovely and light.

 

Book Haul

I’m really happy with my book haul this month. I got a couple of books for Christmas but I also treated myself a bit throughout the month. I got:

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

Pig the Elf by Aaron Blabey

The Five People you Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom (This one I sort of hauled. My Mum brought it down from our upstairs bookshelf and it’s now on my shelves as she highly recommended it to me. I count that as a haul)

What Light by Jay Asher

Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Love, Lies and Spies by Cindy Anstey

The Complete Alice by Lewis Carroll (Macmillan edition)

 

January TBR

I’m currently on holidays until the new school year starts at the beginning of February so I’m hopefully going to get a lot of reading done which will be exciting!

I’m planning on finishing Girl Online Going Solo and then continuing the Shades of Magic series with A Gathering of Shadows before a Conjuring of Light comes out in February.

I think I also want to read A Little Prince as it’s been on my TBR for a while now and its nice and short so I should get through it quickly.

I’m hoping to read another book as well but I’ll see how the month progresses. I might pick up a contemporary like The Sun is Also a Star or I might knock off a fantasy like Heartless. I’ll see what I feel like.

 

Spoonie Stuff and Life in December

December has been a weird month but I’ve really enjoyed a lot of stuff that has happened. I’ve continued going really hard with my exercises which has left me pretty exhausted still but I’ve given myself time to really relax as well while my parents were at work and school was finished for me ( I spent a lot of time with Netflix).

We also did a lot of Christmassy stuff, which was a really nice contrast to the hospital and pain side of my life. Christmas for me is the best time of the year, and even though this year it left me slightly sad, as I wasn’t able to do a lot of the stuff we normally do, I still had fun and felt grateful doing the things I was able to.

I had a review appointment with my occupational therapist a couple of days before Christmas and it’s frustrating that my level of function has gone backwards since my last admission. She did however give me a very intense plan to follow over the next five weeks to try and get as much function and mobility back as possible while my parents are off work and can help me.

We has a very relaxed Christmas which I spent in my PJs, but this past week I’ve started on the plan with lots of physio, hydrotherapy and exercises. I’m already exhausted from it all and have cried a lot but I know I have to keep going or I’m never going to get better and out of my wheelchair.

I think after all the exhaustion that the weeks leading up to Christmas put me through (even though they were very fun), I could have done with a week to just recover from it all but that isn’t possible so I’m now feeling very over tired.

We have another appointment in 3 weeks time to assess where I am at and add more to my routine and plan if we need to. We are aiming for me to hopefully be walking across the parallel bars by then but at the moment even standing is excruciating. It’s tough, but I know I’ll get there and I’m excited to be doing really nice things with my parents this holidays to balance out the health side of my life.

My blog has been a source of joy for me this month though and I was so excited when I reached 50 followers after such a short time! I’m looking forward to doing even more with it next year and seeing how it grows. To everybody that has been super supportive, thank you so much! You get a piece of cake for that!

 

I’ve probably forgotten a whole bunch of stuff that I was going to include about the month in the wrap up but I can’t for the life of me remember right now. Oh well, this post is already longer than I planned. Oops. Thank you so much for reading my blog the past couple of months and I hope you all have had a good December!

5 thoughts on “Goodbye December…

  1. I’ve been wanting to read What Light since I got the ARC in June/July 2016!! I love Asher’s works, so I’m glad you enjoyed it! Congratulations on 50 followers — I’m sure by the end of 2017 you’ll have twice, maybe three times as many 😀 It looks like you have your January TBR already planned out, so I wish you the best of luck with those!! Happy New Year! (:

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read any of Asher’s other works but I absolutely loved this one and I highly recommend it. I’m excited to get to some of his other books this year. Thank you so much! I’m so excited to see how my blog grows this year. I’m hoping I can stick to this month’s TBR! I’m not very good sometimes!😅😊❤ Happy New Year too!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oo, well I hope you get around to reading more of Asher, especially Thirteen Reasons Why!
        I’m sure you’ll do just fine with this year’s resolutions & goals — I’m rooting for you! (: Happy Reading!

        -Jess @jbelkbooks

        Like

    1. Yes it’s been very tiring! Thank you, I’m planning to schedule in some rest and fun in every day this month so I don’t get too overwhelmed and exhausted!❤😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

