My Top 5 Books of 2016 (plus a bit of a reading wrap up thrown in as well)

Dun Dun Duuuuuuunnnn!!!!!! It’s that time of the year. The moment you look back on all the books you’ve read and decide which ships were your favorite and which plotlines had you crying the most. The moment you try excruciatingly hard to order them from favorite to least favorite. It’s torture because THERE ARE SO MANY GOOD BOOKS!!!

So I’m not going to do it, and put myself through that. I am however going to share what books I read this year and which ones were my top 5 favorites. I didn’t read a book this year that I didn’t enjoy and it was so hard trying to decide which ones to include in my Top Favourites as a lot of them were very close to each other. So even though these are my official favourites, there were some from the rest of the year that did tie with the books on my favourites list.

 

I only managed to read 16 books in 2016 due to my chronic illnesses and the pain, fatigue and brain fog that goes with them. I did enjoy reading when I could though and I’m proud of myself for reading 16 books, even though I would normally read more. I’m also very happy that there wasn’t a book I read this year that I didn’t like. Because, let’s be honest, that would have sucked.

Firstly here’s a list of all the books that I read in 2016. They are in chronological order and don’t include my top 5!

 

Girl Online by Zoe Sugg- 3.5 Stars

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard- 3.5 Stars

Too Late by Colleen Hoover- 4 Stars

ACOMAF reread- 5 Stars

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover- 4 Stars

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child buy J.K Rowling

Swear on this life by Renee Carlino- 5 Stars

Aristotle and Dante discover the secrets of the universe- 4 Stars

Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell- 4 Stars

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab- 5 Stars

What Light by Jay Asher- 4 Stars

 

Now for my favorite books of the year (although I had trouble deciding due to there being more than 5, 5-star books. These are in chronological order of when I read them, not from least to most enjoyed.

img_0299.jpg

Lady Midnight

I read this way back in March and I still think about it heaps now. I’ve been reading Cassandra Clare’s books for a long time now and I’m always excited when a new book comes out but I feel like she reached a whole new level of writing with this one and I loved it SO much. All the characters were amazing and I loved the diversity of them as well. Although I always enjoy her plots, because I really love mystery and murder, this one made me very happy and I was on the edge of my seat a LOT. I’m so excited for Lord of Shadows and to see how the series progresses, given that there were some things from the Shadow world in this one that we had never seen before. It was also very exciting whenever old characters were mentioned or seen. Especially Magnus. I love Magnus so much. (Also is anyone else excited for Shadowhunters Season 2? I get to watch it tomorrow and I can’t wait!)

 acomaf-cover-3

A Court of Mist and Fury

I’m sure this book is on everyone’s top books of 2016 list but it is definitely on there for a reason. This book was phenomenal and Sarah took it to a whole new level of amazingness. I loved ACOTAR but I think I would struggle to read it now, knowing what I do from this book and loving who I do. It just made the series 1000% better and that’s saying something given her books are always fantastic. I loved how it tied into all the plot points from the first book and it continued on perfectly.

There were so many beautiful quotes and moments that I’ve reread a thousand times, even though I actually had to reread it pretty much straight after finishing it because I couldn’t get it out of my head. Given some of the things Feyre went through in the book, it also really helped me to feel less alone given all the things that have happened in my life this year as well. If you haven’t read any of Sarah’s books, please do it, even if it’s just for hot Illyrian Warrior Fae (*Rhys*)!

 27362503

It Ends With Us

I started reading Colleen’s books at the beginning of last year and I have now worked my way through pretty much all of them. I’ve loved them all and each one has tugged at my heartstrings. But THIS BOOK. It destroyed me. For real. It was heartbreaking and so so achingly beautiful, especially when you know how personal it is to the author. It had me so confused with all the emotions I was feeling and I really didn’t know what to think because it shows that life and love really isn’t simple; it’s messy and complicated and it hurts. But at the end of the day you can make things work. I know in the past I’ve thought that her books just keep getting better and better but to be honest I’m not sure how she can top this one.

 EOS-Cover.png

Empire of Storms

I know, another Sarah J Maas book, but she is one of my favourite authors and Empire of Storms was incredible. I love how intricate this story line is getting and how it links back to before Throne of Glass to the Assassin’s Blade. There are so many amazing, sarcastic, badass characters in this series and I loved seeing them all develop even more in Empire of Storms. The relationships and action scenes were taken to a new level and it amazes me how Sarah has been weaving the plot line deeper and deeper without us even realizing until it happens. I had SO MANY feelings by the end and I think my heart is still broken from the cliffhanger. I really need the next book which I guess shows how good this one was. Her writing really does keep getting better and better and I think this one now ties with Heir of Fire for my favourite book in the series.

sixofcrows

Six of Crows

Now, I had serious trouble deciding whether or not to include this novel, or A Darker Shade of Magic in my top 5 because they were both new authors to me and I was really impressed with the writing in both books. Six of Crows won just because I read it first.

This was my first time reading anything by Leigh Bardugo and I can’t believe I haven’t gotten to her in the past. I loved everything about this book. The combination of fantasy with action and mystery was right up my alley and I fell in love with all the characters immediately. There were plot twists I did not anticipate and I loved the heist aspect, as well as ALL THE SASS! Seriously, there was so much sass in this book. I’m going to be picking up Crooked Kingdom fairly soon and I suspect I am going to be very sad when the duology is over. I am also going to read the Grisha Trilogy at some point as well since I’ve heard it’s amazing as well.

 

Those were my favourite books and books I read in 2016! Sorry for rambling a bit, I got very excited when it came to my favourites! What were your favourite books of 2016? Let me know!!!

Leave a Reply

