Top 5 Wednesday January 11th- Debut Novels I’m Excited for this Year!

It’s that time of the week again Top Five Wednesday is hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes and If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page! This week’s topic is debut novels i’m excited for in 2017 and guys! I had SO much trouble with this week’s T5W. I literally had no idea about what the debut novels were for this year and if some of the books I’m excited for are by debut authors or not and if the authors had books I didn’t know about. Caraval was literally the only novel I knew for certain was a debut.

Thankfully I had trusty goodreads to fall back on, and I ended up adding several books to my anticipated list for this year. I did click on books in the list based on their cover and title, because I wasn’t going to sit and click through Every. Single. One. So, yes, I judged several books by their covers, but blame the publishers not me. By the end of my searching i had found heaps of debuts i wanted to read and actually had trouble narrowing my list down for today’s post.

28116719.jpg

Daughter of the Pirate King

This pick may have been influenced greatly by the fact that I’m reading A Gathering of Shadows and Lila is a badass pirate, and it’s currently my career of choice at the moment (I’m probably going to binge watch all the Pirates of the Caribbean movies on the weekend), but still, this book sounds fan-friggin-tastic. In my opinion there aren’t enough pirate books in YA and this title REALLY hooked me (see what I did there?). It has female pirates, treasure maps, and what sounds like a very promising plot line. I’m excited.

 8039f12b9fffe7a49d6e8d6ac01d77f0.jpg

Cold Summer

I originally clicked on this one because the cover reminded me of the gorgeous A thousand Pieces of You covers, but I’m so glad that I did because it sounds extremely intuiging. Having recently started watching (and obsessing) over Outlander, it reminds me a bit of that, but at the same time like it’s own completely individual and unique story. I love the idea of a soldier travelling between 1945 and high school. There isn’t enough history in books in my opinion and this sounds like a really interesting way to get readers into it.

30653927.jpg

The Hidden Memory of Objects

Another interesting sounding synopsis. One of the first things I thought of was how Liv in iZombie can see the memories of the brains she eats. I love a good mystery and murder so I’m really hoping this novel can deliver with twists and turns I don’t see coming (it already sounds like it will!)

 25752041.jpg

Royal Bastards

I’m sorry, but the title Royal Bastards was always going to catch my attention and I really love the sound of this book. It looks like it will stand apart from all the royalty/servant/ magic book that seem to be so popular with authors these days ( I do love these books though), and I love the idea of bastards all joining together to save everyone when they were cast aside by their parents ( kind of picturing Bash from Reign right now).

25116429.jpg#Famous

This one just sounded fun and light and easy to read. Which I really need sometimes to break up all the heavy heartbreaking fantasy and NA I read ( I’m looking at you SJMaas and Colleen Hoover). It’s unrealistic but sometimes those are the best types of contemporaries because I can still escape reality without having to read something like high fantasy or sci-fi.

 

I’m just going to add Caraval to the bottom of this list as a sneaky little extra because I’m really excited for it, but I’m pretty sure it’s going to be on everyone’s lists as it’s pretty big at the moment and I thought that would get a bit repetitive. (Also check out Love and First Sight. It looks really good too)

 

I’m actually really grateful for this week’s prompt ( although it was hard to start with) because it made me investigate debuts and I’ve found some really amazing sounding ones that I can’t wait to read when they are released! I used this Goodreads list to help me find these amazing debuts and by the time i’d gone through it, i had way more than five i wanted to add to this list. 

What Debut novels are you excited for in 2017? Any that i might not have heard of? 

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday January 11th- Debut Novels I’m Excited for this Year!

  1. I’m really looking forward to both Royal bastards and cold summer. It’s so strange for me normally I’m so far behind on new books that I don’t even manage any the year they come out and now I’m actually looking forward to books that havent come out yet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

