Goodbye January…

Hello hello hello! January went both very fast and very slow for me. I don’t really know if that makes sense but it does in my head. I think being on holidays messes with your brain a bit. You have lots of time to spare so it goes slow, but then you freak out as you realize how much time you have left and it goes fast. It was quite a good book month though so lets get into it!

 

Books I read this month

I was really happy with my reading start to the year. I read three books, all of which were very different from each other but I enjoyed very much. They were:

30340276.jpg

Girl Online Going Solo by Zoe Sugg

I started this at the end of December and finished it not too long into January. It was my favourite book in the Girl Online series and wrapped up the trilogy very nicely. I should be getting a review for it up very soon.

littleprince

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

I had been meaning to read this book for a long time, especially after reading Everything Everything in 2015 and it being mentioned so much in there. I’ve seen lovely quotes from it all over the place so in January I finally decided to pick it up. It was a very short read but it was a really lovely story, one of those children’s books that is meant more for adults than for children. I suspect I will reread it lots in the future and gain new insights and understanding every time I do. I definitely recommend this one.

 26236443-_uy200_

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E.Schwab

This was my favourite book of the month and was such an fantastic sequel to A Darker Shade of Magic. I loved how it carried on from the last book and the plot twists and character development were amazing. A few new characters were introduced and like the last book, there were some moments that had me laughing out loud (I can’t write that now without thinking of LOL which disgusts me but it’s the best way to phrase it because I actually did exactly that). I’m super pumped for A Conjuring of Light at the end of Feb but also very sad that this wonderful trilogy will be ending.

 

Book Haul

I didn’t mean to get as many books as I did this month, it just sort of happened… I saw a few good deals that I couldn’t pass up, and my hospital gift shop has some really good-looking books at ridiculously low prices.

 

From Book Depository

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

(These two came in a box set that I actually ordered back in December when the price was very low)

 

From Booktopia

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

(I got a Booktopia gift voucher for Christmas and I just couldn’t resist buying the gorgeous hardcover box set of this amazing series that I’ve seen all over bookstagram. In case you were wondering, it was totally worth it.)

 

Hospital Haul

Not if I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

Kitty Peck and the Music Hall Murders by Kate Griffin

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

(I think the four of these ended up coming to less than twenty dollars. I’ve seen If I Was your Girl a lot recently so I’m very excited to get to that!)

 

Random

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare

Windwitch by Susan Dennard

Celebration by Mounia Bagha ( I won this in a giveaway back in December from @myriadinklings on Instagram and it finally arrived!)

 

February TBR

I go back to school this month, as well as getting back into lots of physical therapy so I don’t really know how much I will be able to get read.

I plan to finish off Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo, which I started at the end of January (it’s really good so far!).

I might also start Truthwitch which has been holding my interest for a while or perhaps maybe a contemporary, I’ll see how I go, I’m going to be pretty lose this month.

 

Spoonie Stuff and Life in January

During January I had the whole month off from school because of the summer holidays, and so did my parents because they are both teachers.

Although I was on holidays, I was doing a lot of physical therapy and hydrotherapy while my parents were off work so they could help me as much as possible. This left me very exhausted and with increased pain levels but it was good knowing I was doing as much as possible to try and get better. It’s a very slow and difficult path but I’ll get there one day. It just kind of sucks that for me the road to recovery is to make myself feel worse. (I’m going to do a post at some point explaining my health in more detail).

 

I did do some nice stuff as well though. I went shopping a few times and went to a couple of movies, as well as worked on a puzzle at home. We also went to a resort in my city for a couple of days to get away from home for a bit and feel like we were properly on holidays. It was very nice to just lie in the sun all day and sleep, as well as get room service! I was exhausted a lot and had several meltdowns but it was a really nice little staycation.

 

I backed right of with the therapy the last week of January so that I wasn’t too exhausted for my Year 12 school ball that was on the 28th. Unfortunately I got a UTI/kidney infection that week that still hasn’t completely cleared but I managed to get to the ball and it was an AMAZING night. I’m so grateful for all my friends and everyone who helped make the ball possible.

The ball has made my pain and exhaustion flare majorly so I’ve basically been hibernating the last week, even though I need to get back into therapy soon so I don’t fall behind.

 

My final year of high school had officially started which Is making me sad as it won’t be how I planned and I’m feeling a bit cheated as I’ve gradually missed more and more school the past 3 years with my declining health. I don’t really want it to end because I like school and I want more time to enjoy it. Still, I know some good memories will be made.

 

Sorry if that wrap up was very long, a lot of stuff happened in January! I hope you are all doing well and thank you so much for putting up with my ramblings once again!

2 thoughts on “Goodbye January…

Leave a Reply

