Spoonie Sunday: My Thoughts on the Word ‘Disabled’

Hi guys, so when I started this blog a couple of months back, it was not only so I could talk about books but also so I could talk about life with a chronic illness and spread more awareness. So far I have written lots of posts about books but not really any about my chronic illness life.

I guess I’ve been trying to avoid it as much as possible but I’m going to try not to do that anymore because talking about it and explaining it will be good for me.

So here I am! I think I’m going to start a series on my blog called Spoonie Sunday. So every Sunday I’ll post about something spoonie related. For those of you who don’t know, spoonies are people with Chronic Illnesses. I’m really excited about this and hopefully I can maybe make some spoonies out there feel less alone and bring some understanding to those who aren’t sick.

I may post other health posts during the week if I feel like it, but Sundays I definitely will! And don’t worry; during the week I will still post lots of fun bookish posts! Okay, let’s get into it!

 

I hate the term disabled. It makes me feel like I am useless and less of a human being. Yes I am sick and have several illnesses but that doesn’t mean that I am ‘disabled’. Yes I am not able to walk but there are a lot of things that I am able to do.

I’m able to smile at people without letting on how much pain I’m in.

I’m able to binge watch 16 episodes of Friends in a day.

I’m able to find joy, even though my whole world feels like it’s falling apart.

I’m able to make it through a night of painsomnia, even when my pain is awful and I’m crying.

I’m able to do origami and other things that involve my hands.

I’m able to go down the street for coffee, even though it really wears me out.

I’m able to put make up on and look slightly more alive than I did before.

I’m able to bake yummy food, even if I can’t always eat it.

I’m able to read a book, even if it takes me a lot longer than it used to.

I’m able to make jokes with my OT, even if I kind of hate her for pushing me hard.

I’m able to write posts on my blog about the things I love.

I’m able to sing along to Disney like I’m five years old again.

I’m able to laugh with my friends when they try to cheer me up.

So yes, there are a lot of things that I am unable to do. But there are also lots and lots of things that I am able to do. And that does not make me disabled. It makes me amazing and strong and a fighter.

2 thoughts on “Spoonie Sunday: My Thoughts on the Word ‘Disabled’

Leave a Reply

