Top 5 Wednesday February 22nd- Books to Get you out of a Reading Slump

I think every book worm on the planet can agree that book slumps are the worst. I was extremely excited about this week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic because I’m looking forward to seeing what other people suggest for getting out of a slump. It’s good to have a list because  you never know when one will strike. I actually had a lot of trouble with today’s topic. Not because there aren’t because that have gotten me out of a slump but because i just couldn’t remember what they were! I did manage to come up with a list though, so ‘Snaps for Maddie’!

Top Five Wednesday is hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes and If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!

screen-shot-2016-10-29-at-10-05-48-pm

Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell

I got sent this book by the author a couple of months ago for review (you can find my review here), and I absolutely loved it. I had just come out of reading Empire of Storms and was in a huge book hangover. This book pulled me out of it right away and was just so adorable and perfect. Melody’s Key pulled me in from the first sentence and had me thinking about it when I wasn’t reading it. It was hilarious at times and the romance was really cute. It was quite short so you could get through it quickly and feel successful at having read a book, which I always find is important in a slump. If you have to read a book for ages because it’s so long you’re just going to get dragged into the slump even further because you aren’t accomplishing anything. I definitely recommend this as a quick read to leave a book slump.

Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 1.52.46 pm.png

Anything by Colleen Hoover

So, Colleen Hoover doesn’t actually have a book called anything but I always turn to a Colleen Hoover book when I don’t know what to read and I’m in a slump. I usually don’t even look at what it’s about, I just choose one I haven’t read yet. They have a way of drawing you in and getting you super attached to the characters and story. I love her characters and the romances are always complicated but so lovely to read and they always have a happy ending (of sorts). If you haven’t read any of her books yet, I would maybe recommend starting with Slammed, Confess or Ugly Love (November 9 is amazing but it’s best to read Ugly Love first as it has a cute little attachment which is fun when you’ve already read Ugly Love).

516tBAVfPVL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Percy Jackson and the Lighting Thief by Rick Riordan 

I haven’t read Percy Jackson in a while but I remember when I first read it I couldn’t put it down and it completely drew me in. I think I got through all five books in a week because I just wanted to know what would happen next. Percy is so sassy and sarcastic which is awesome in a main character because you get to laugh a lot. The plot line is awesome and even the chapter titles have a way of making you want to read what happens (go Google them, I promise you’ll be intrigued).

sixofcrows

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I read Six of Crows recently and oh my! That book was just… Wow! I think I was in a slump when I read it and it definitely pulled me out. All the characters are so different from one another but you love each of them in their own way. They have such complicated histories and I love seeing them all come together in the way they do. The plot line was so original and I loved that the crew weren’t necessarily the good guys that you get in a normal story. It pulled me in and kept me reading and I’m sure it will for you too. I also just finished Crooked Kingdom and the sequel was just as amazing and ended so well. Although it may send you into a book hangover because it’s so good. If so refer to any of the books above if that happens.

27883214.jpg

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I’m currently reading Caraval and it’s gotten me so hooked in the couple of days since I started it. I was falling into a bit of a book slump after finishing Crooked Kingdom, but as soon as I picked this book up it pulled me in and I didn’t want to stop because I needed to find out what happened next. It’s full of so much mystery and magic and I can’t wait to get further in and finish it!

 

So, that’s it for this week’s Top 5 Wednesday I hope you enjoyed it! I’ve discovered that I really need to take more notice of the books that pull me out of a slump because I had a lot of trouble this week. But I got there! Yay!

What are some books that got you out of a slump? I’d love to know!

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday February 22nd- Books to Get you out of a Reading Slump

Leave a Reply

