Beauty and the Beast Book Tag

With the upcoming release of the live action Disney Beauty and the Beast film, i thought it would be fun to do this tag. I’m so excited for the movie so I’m trying to channel that anyway I can, today in the form of this tag.

I wasn’t actually tagged by anyone in particular but a few people have done this tag and tagged anyone who wanted to do it, so i’m saying that counts.

au_rich_large_beautyandthebeast_payoff_4bfd4fa0.jpg

  1. “TALE AS OLD AS TIME” – A POPULAR THEME, TROPE OR SETTING YOU WILL NEVER GET BORED OF READING.

Friendships with a gay best friend. Although I haven’t seen this theme in many books yet, but every time I do it makes me really happy. I love how this is becoming more and more normal and appearing more naturally in books as it shows that diversity really is coming along in the Y.A. world. These friendships always bring a smile to my face and are very cute but also reminiscent of a few friendships I have in real life, which makes them relatable.

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 8.23.26 am.png

  1. BELLE – A BOOK YOU BOUGHT FOR IT’S BEAUTIFUL COVER THAT’S JUST AS BEAUTIFUL INSIDE TOO

Well, I collect copies of Alice in Wonderland because it has some of the most beautiful editions I’ve ever seen but I also absolutely adore the story. It’s so weird and wonderful and feels very close to my heart. I can’t wait for all the new editions that will be released in the future that I can add to my collection! The illustrations inside all the copies I own are gorgeous and so different from one edition to the next.

ANNA+UK.jpg

  1. BEAST – A BOOK YOU DIDN’T EXPECT MUCH FROM BUT PLEASANTLY SURPRISED YOU.

Anna and the French Kiss looked really cheesy to me to start with, and trust me, it is still very cheesy but it’s such a cute and well written book that it wouldn’t work without the cheesiness. I love the plotline and Etienne is one of my favorite book boyfriends. It was the perfect summery read that made me want to run away to Paris, and I can’t wait to get into the rest of the trilogy at some point.

15507958.jpg

  1. GASTON – A BOOK EVERYONE LOVES THAT YOU DON’T

Me Before You. I actually stopped reading this book half way through because it hit a little close to home. I know everyone loved the book around the time the movie came out and I may eventually get back to it but Will’s outlook on life really frustrated me as someone who is in a wheelchair and living with chronic pain as well. It made me feel like he thought people in wheelchairs weren’t worth anything and some of the scenes with him in pain made me cringe from memories of similar pain.

sixofcrows

  1. LEFOU – A LOYAL SIDEKICK YOU CAN’T HELP BUT LOVE MORE THAN THEIR COUNTER PART.

Ooo this one is hard. Can I use Inej from Six of Crows? I know all six of the crew are the main characters but technically they are all Kaz’s sidekicks since he initiated the master plan. I adore the whole crew but I especially love how Inej looks after Kaz. She seems so graceful and brave, despite everything she has been through. Plus, she doesn’t put up with any of Kaz’s crap, and her past has made her kind and strong, not cruel and weak.

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 8.25.18 am.png

  1. MRS POTTS, CHIP, LUMIER & COGSWORTH – A BOOK THAT HELPED YOU THROUGH A DIFFICULT TIME OR THAT TAUGHT YOU SOMETHING VALUABLE

A Court of Mist and Fury and Empire of Storms have really helped me this past year with how sick I have been. They helped me to laugh and disappear from the tough stuff but also helped me to stay strong through the characters that have been through hell and pain as well but come out the other side, hopeful for a better future.

6852601.jpg

  1. “SOMETHING THERE” – A BOOK OR A SERIES THAT YOU WEREN’T INTO AT FIRST BUT PICKED UP TOWARDS THE END.

The Splintered series is now one of my favourite series and although I really enjoyed the first book I absolutely LOVED the second and third. The story just got better and more twisted and beautiful and lost some of the cheesiness that was present in the first book. The writing got more complex and I grew to love the characters more as they developed, especially Morpheus (think Will Herondale, Noah Shaw, and Rhysand- he’s one of those kinds of fictional men). It was also amazing how the author took the ideas in the original Alice story and turned them into her own.

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 8.31.04 am.png
Aelin art by Taratjah
  1. “BE OUR GUEST” – A FICTIONAL CHARACTER YOU’D LOVE TO HAVE OVER FOR DINNER

Oh my god, there are a whole army of fictional characters I’d love to have over for dinner but if I had to pick one of many many favourites it’d probably have to be Aelin from the Throne of Glass series. She has gotten me through so much the past few years with my health and I’d just love to thank her and give her a huge hug for all she’s done for me.

If I had to choose another more quirky one it would be the Cheshire cat because he has always been one of my favourite characters in Wonderland; the perfect combination of madness and wisdom. Plus, it’d be kinda hilarious to see what Aelin and him got up to and how they interacted (can you imagine if Fleetfoot was there as well? I don’t know how she’d cope with a disappearing cat!).

That’s it for today’s post! i hope you enjoyed my picks for this tag and if you like the look of this tag, feel free to do it! I’m also tagging Jess @Beaucoupbooks and Poulami @DayDreamingBooks (I hoped i tagged right, this is my first time doing this!). Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast Book Tag

  1. Great tag! I’m so excited for the beauty and the beast film to come out, belle was my favourite princess growing up because she loved books and was so smart! I’m glad you enjoyed the splintered series, I’ve had it on my TBR for a while now but I’ve been putting it off because I heard some negative things about it. I’ll have to pick it up soon though!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I always related so much with Belle growing up as well. She didn’t quite fit in and always had her nose stuck in a book! As someone who loved Alice in Wonderland, Splintered is one of my favourite retellings of it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

