Top 5 Wednesday March 8th- Favourite Sci-fi and Fantasy Books

Hello! I’m currently sitting in bed with the sunshine streaming through my window and a banana smoothie next to me. My perfect way to blog in the morning (minus the noise of construction tools in the background from my neighbour renovating his house)! It’s Wednesday, which means another Top 5 Wednesday post!

This week’s theme had me very excited, but it was actually more difficult than I thought because I have so many favourite fantasy books, and I didn’t want to use books that I’ve already mentioned a 100 times before which would get pretty boring. So here is my list, and hopefully there are books that I haven’t really talked about loving before!

Top Five Wednesday is hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes and If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!

8151112

The Thirteenth series by Georgia Twynham

Okay, so this series I have actually talked about before but I couldn’t resist adding it in today’s post because it’s actually a combination of fantasy and sci-fi, which is something, you don’t see often in books. It’s about a girl named Val who wakes up with a tattoo on her arm one day. The rest of it is a whirlwind as she tries to work out how it got there and discovers a past she didn’t know she had. It has magic and witches, as well as planets and aliens and is flippin’ amazing! Oh, and did I mention she works in a bookshop? Basically my life goal right there.

 6852601

The Splintered Series by A.G.Howard

I read this series a couple of years back and It still hasn’t left me. It might partly be because it’s an Alice in Wonderland retelling, but I loved everything about this series. The magic system was awesome and the author put such a freaky and wonderful twist on everything in Wonderland and how the main character is involved. There were so many twists and turns I didn’t see coming, plus the main character is such a badass, with a quirky fashion sense and interesting artistic talent. Even though there is a love triangle, it didn’t frustrate me the way most did, and I loved the way it ended up resolving itself (I loved both of the guys, but one of them was super sassy and stole my heart).

clockwork-angel-9781481456029_hr

The Infernal Devices

I’ve been reading Cassandra Clare’s novels for a ridiculously long time now, and even though I love all of her books, The Infernal Devices is the one I’ve reread the most and broke my hear the most (in the best possible way). I’m not sure if it’s because it’s set in Victorian London, which is my favourite era and place, or if it’s just the characters, but there is something about this series that makes it my favourite so far (although Lady Midnight does come very close). I love the Shadow world, and how Cassie just keeps adding to it and making it grow. I’m so attached to all the characters and families, and I’m still not over the ending of Clockwork Princess

darker-shade-magic-book 

Shades of Magic by V.E.Schwab

I only started this series a couple of months ago but it’s worked its way into my heart and I don’t think it will ever leave. Schwab’s writing style is amazing and although the concept of three Londons sounds very confusing, she’s written it in a way where it’s super simple and you just want to keep learning more. I love the magic system she’s constructed and how magic is used differently in each world. She write’s such strong characters, and although I love them all, Lila Bard is such a badass female that she’s definitely become my favourite. I’m currently reading A Conjuring of Light, and it’s incredible, but I really don’t want this beautiful series to end.

lunar-chronicles-marissa-meyer

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I read the first three books in the series a couple of years back before Winter came out and absolutely devoured them because of how amazing the writing and concept was.

I love retellings and the fact that Marissa Meyer managed to do it in a sci-fi setting with cyborgs is awesome and extremely unique.

I have a confession though; when Winter finally came out, I never got around to reading it and I’ve forgotten a lot of the first three books now and want to reread them before finally finishing the series. I’m currently rereading Cinder by audiobook and I’m surprised by how much I’m enjoying reading a book this way. I’d also forgotten how much I love this world, so it’s very good to be back.

 I could probably go on about 1000 other books in these genres like Sarah J Maas’ books and the Red Queen series but I’m going to leave it there for today and maybe I’ll extend this list in another post!

You can probably tell by this list that I read more fantasy than sci-fi, but there are books in both genres that I’m dying to read, so I might make a list soon of sci-fi and fantasy books that I want to read soon! I hope you enjoyed this post, as much as I enjoyed writing it and I will see you all soon with another post!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday March 8th- Favourite Sci-fi and Fantasy Books

    1. Will and Jem will forever be my favourite bromance and friendship. Their bond is just so strong and amazing!
      I’ve had that thought as well! The Londoners seem more close-knit but i might be biased, because i love anything set in London and the Victorian age. I do think the London Institute members had a closer bond but it might also be a part of the social structure and rules at the time as well!

      Like

    1. Me too! i’m looking forward to finally reading Winter after waiting for a couple of years. I’ve heard it’s really good. I think i might also read the novella collections as well!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

