International Women’s Day- My Favourite Fictional Females

Hello! Happy belated International Women’s Day! I feel like I’m always the last person to know about special occasion days but my excuse is that I had a post already scheduled for Wednesday. Anyway, in honour of all things amazing females, I thought I would write a post on my favourite female characters!

There are SO many female characters that I love so I’m going to narrow it down for the moment, and maybe do another post with more characters later!

 

Celaena Sardothien (Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas)

Celaena has been one of my favourite female characters since the moment I started the series. She’s been through so much in her life, and keeps on getting stuff thrown at her, yet she’s so strong and confident still. Yes, she has bad days and her past affects her, but that makes her human. I love how she takes control of almost every situation, and even though she often doesn’t share her plans with others, they ended up working out perfectly. She’s sassy, amazing with almost any type of weapon (including herself), and has an amazing dress sense. I want to be her.

Also, as a side note, I feel like females would make much better assassins in general than males, I mean we’re experts at getting blood out of things and are much more tough than most guys, which puts us way ahead of men at being able to kill people skillfully.

giphy copy.gif

Nina Zenik (Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo)

I love Nina SO much and if I could, I would pay to have a whole series just about her and her adventures. She is such a bright, sassy character and has some of the best quotes in the whole series. I loved her in Six of Crows, but even more so in Crooked Kingdom, when she had to recover and learn to live with all the things that happened to her in the events of the first novel. I love how she isn’t afraid to put the male members of the group in their place (especially Matthias).

I also thought it was wonderful how she represents a lot of girls who don’t see themselves much in YA. There are barely any curvier ‘plus sized’ women in YA, even though there are many YA readers who are. I think it was pretty wonderful how she was someone that girls could see themselves in, in a really positive light, as her size, and her love of food is never portrayed negatively, it’s just a part of who she is.

 

Mor (ACOTAR series by Sarah J Maas)

I’m so excited to hopefully find out in ACOWAR what Mor’s powers are, since it’s been hinted at that she’s pretty powerful. Go google the Morrigan and see what you find. Some of the stuff around her namesake is pretty interesting and I suspect will hint at her powers.

Although Feyre has been through absolute hell and torture as well (trust me, she’s also my favourite, I just wanted to choose a less common ACOTAR female), I think the things that Mor endured, most of which we don’t really know the true story, were truly horrific. The fact that her family was going to sell her off in such a horrible way, and what they did to her afterward still makes me feel heartbroken.

It amazes me how she came out of it okay though, and I think she was a big part of Feyre’s healing process. From the time she met Feyre, she had nothing but love and friendship to offer her, even though she admitted that there are days she still struggles. Mor is strong, and friendly and in general, a female that every young woman should look up to.

 giphy

Alanna (Song of the Lioness Series by Tamora Pierce)

Alanna will always hold a special place in my heart. I first read this series when I was about twelve and I absolutely fell in love with it. It’s probably the younger end of YA but I’ve read it a thousand times and I’ll probably read it a thousand more.

Alanna is supposed to grow up and become a Lady like all young women in medieval-ish times. However, she decides to take her twin brother’s place at the kingdom’s palace and become a knight instead. Through the series you watch her grow up and become an amazing, strong character that all girls, younger and older should look up to. She’s a bit like Mulan, where she pretends to be a guy and end’s up actually doing better than all of them. I even love the fact that she gets her period and has to learn how to deal with it, in a world full of men. She’s awesome, she’s a knight and she has magic. What more does a girl need to be? (oh, and she has a talking cat).

giphy..gif

Iko (The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer)

So… Does Iko count? I feel like she should, because even though she’s an android, she’s more human than most people on Earth. Even though she had a ‘personality default’, it made her one of the best and funniest characters in the series. She was so caring and always had Cinder’s best interests at heart, even if she couldn’t always see the bigger picture. She understood what it was like to be different and because of that, had a lot of compassion for others just like her. I loved how she wanted the special things in life, because even though escaping was what she and Cinder really needed to do, all she wanted was to dress up and go to the ball. I’m so excited to read Marissa Meyer’s new graphic novel, which I’ve heard is all about this adorable little android.

 

That’s it for today’s post and I hope you enjoyed it! I had a lot of fun writing it and listing some of my all time favourite women! And if you’re a female, I just want to remind you that you are gorgeous, and strong, and better than any men that try to put you down (and one day, girls will rule the world).

Let me know some of your favourite fictional females! (Also, i sort of discovered gifs and went crazy… i apologise profusely)

giphy...gif

4 thoughts on “International Women’s Day- My Favourite Fictional Females

  1. I don’t read much YA so aren’t familiar with these characters – but I love that there are so many strong female protagonists for young women to read about these days 🙂 Great post!

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed this post! These days, there are so many amazing YA females, and it’s really great that they are just getting better and better. I can’t wait to see what YA holds for us in the future!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

