Books that Made me Ugly Cry

Hello! Today, I couldn’t decide what to write about, and I was scrolling through some of my old drafts and post ideas when I found this. The books that made me ugly cry. And I thought, what the hell, it’s a cloudy day outside; let’s go for it. I’m not the biggest crier in books and movies, and I tend to sometimes cry at different things to other people. I often also will feel like I should be crying when something happens in a book, but I actually can’t cry because of how shocked I am.

Still, there are a few books I’ve read over the past few years, that had me sobbing like there’s no tomorrow. Not just a tear or two, but can’t see the page, using up a whole tissue box ugly crying. And today I thought I would share those books with you! (Because I know you’re all secretly dying to find out)!

  51A99teA6iL._SX317_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

The Book Thief

This is probably the book that has made me cry the most out of all the books in the universe. I was sobbing uncontrollably when I got to the last section of the book (if you’ve read it, you know the one).

I came downstairs after finishing it and my parents were so worried about me before I explained that it was a book that had caused my puffy eyes and running mascara (well I didn’t actually have mascara on because who wears mascara around the house while in their pyjamas reading, but mascara just adds dramatic flair somehow).

But seriously, I couldn’t see the words on the page to actually finish the book I was crying so hard. I had snot running down my nose and it was raw by the time I’d finished wiping it. This. Book. Ruined. Me. But it was so beautiful and eye opening so I think it’s a must read for anyone on the planet. I’m looking forward to rereading it at some point, and I think it will still destroy me, even though I know what’s coming.

 Unknown

Allegiant

It’s strange because Allegiant was not a very good ending to the series for me, and I’m not sure I can remember much of the actual plot line of the book because it didn’t really stand out to me but I think the reason I was crying so bad with this one is that it’s one of the books that got me into YA novels.

I was really close to the characters for a long time and had anxiously been awaiting for this book to come out, so I think when that ending happened (if you’ve read it you’ll know the one), and the fact that my favorite series was ending, it really hit me.

It was such a shock and I had to reread it a few times to actually let it sink in.

 18335634.jpg

Clockwork Princess

No matter how many times I reread this series Clockwork Princess always has me crying. I read Clockwork Princess in a day, and it was one of the most perfect but heartbreaking endings to a series I’ve ever read.

I remember getting to the very long epilogue and wanting to devour it as fast as possible, but at the same time not read it at all because I didn’t want it to end. I think I cried so hard because, apart from the ending of the book and what happened, it was also the end of one of my favourite series, which really hit me.

Unknownf.jpg

The Fault in Our Stars

This ones probably a classic, and everyone who read it cried just like I did, but again, it was one of the books that got me into YA, and John Green’s novels were really close to my heart for a long time. A lot of stuff in this novel hit me, and took me by surprise and that ending had me sobbing big time.

 9781476753188_hr.jpg

Ugly Love

All of Colleen Hoover’s books have hit me big time, and her most recent one it Ends With Us had me crying as well, but Ugly Love was my very first book by her. I was sucked into the story line and her beautiful writing, but this book is one of her heavier ones, and it had me gasping for breathe at points, because of how hard it hit me. It was such a raw and emotional book, and she really took a leap with some plot points, that I haven’t seen other authors do.

 Unknown..jpg

Mockingjay

Mockingjay is probably another classic tearjerker, but the fact that it was the last book and the events and deaths that occurred throughout the novel, had me rereading to see if I read it wrong, while tears were streaming down my face. You know what I mean if you’ve read it. It would be interesting to see if it hit me the same way a second time, given that it’s been a few years since I read this series and my reading tastes have changed. Still, the characters in this novel will always be close to my heart.

  18243700.jpg

The Assassin’s Blade

Okay, so I binge read Assassin’s Blade on my birthday two years ago since I spent about 10 hours of it in a car, as I was driving to Albany (funnily enough for a funeral my parents had to attend. It was cool though because I love driving in the countryside in the rain). A word of advice; don’t read this book on your birthday. Because the only tears you should be crying on your birthday are those of laughter and these were not. Even though I knew what was going to happen at some point in this book because I’d read the Throne of Glass series it still hit me SO HARD. Sarah’s writing is just so detailed and amazing that when it came to it I was crying. And while doing so I was giving my parents a detailed run down of everything that was happening because I had nobody to fangirl with in the backseat of my car in the middle of nowhere surprisingly.

 

I had trouble not spoiling major events of books in this post but I hope you enjoyed reading about what books made me puffy eyed and had my parents concerned when I came out of my room. Although these books, made me cry, it’s a good thing, because they did their job extremely well as a book, which is to make the reader feel something. I recommend all of these books, but be warned, you’re going to need tissues.

Let me know in the comments what books made you ugly cry!

4 thoughts on “Books that Made me Ugly Cry

  1. I’ve been wanting to reread THG too… and the same thing happened to me with The Book Thief with that ending.. I was stopping every 5 minutes because I was crying my eyes out…

    Like

  2. I bawled at the end of Clockwork Princess. Even now when I re-read it, I skip over the ending because it just gives me to many emotions. I cried at the end of Allegiant, probably mostly because the ending was just like…wtf! I just felt super depressed at the end of Mockingjay, which I also see as a good thing because the author didn’t sugarcoat the cost of war…it was quite melancholy. I would add all of these books to my list too hehe 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

