Top 5 Wednesday March 22nd- Favourite Angsty Romances

Hello! It’s currently raining and windy outside, and I have my fairy lights on and a couple of candles burning in my room, the perfect way to sit and write a post in my opinion. It’s Wednesday again and that means another Top 5 Wednesday post!

This week’s topic is Angsty Romances and when I first saw it I got very confused about what it specifically meant. This is what the caption says- ‘describes a situation or literary piece which contains dark, depressing, angry, and/or brooding emotions from the participating characters’.

Of course pretty much every single romance I know like this flew out of my head the instant I read the description, even though I could probably normally think of hundreds! Today I think I’m going to throw in a couple of movie and TV Show romances as well, just to mix things up a bit (translation: I ran out of angsty book romance ideas).

Top Five Wednesday is hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes and If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!

 

Unknown 

Jace and Clary from The Mortal Instruments series

I couldn’t decide whether to do Jace and Clary, or Will and Tessa, because both are pretty angsty, but in the end, Clace won. Pretty much all relationships Cassandra Clare writes have some element of angst and torture to them but The Mortal Instruments was the very first series I read by her.

I remember being on the edge of my seat and wanting to scream, because Clary and Jace got thrown apart by other circumstances (like that little sibling misunderstanding), but when they had the chance to be together, they still didn’t get their s*#t together fast enough.

It all worked out in the end, but I think part of why it took so long was because Jace was such a broody, traumatized character to start with that it took a while for their relationship to work. I love them though and they will forever be one of my favourite ships, in fact I’m hoping to do a reread soon so I can experience it all over again!

 

darker-shade-magic-book

Lila and Kell from The Shades of Magic Series

I’m currently reading A Conjuring of Light which is probably why I chose this ship, because they are just SO adorable and I can’t deal with it. The character development of these two from book one is incredible and I love how their relationship has developed as well. Kell is a pretty brooding serious character, and although Lila is very sarcastic and quick witted, she’s very closed off and doesn’t trust much. Add the fact that they met because she stole something pretty dangerous from him, and you’re going to end up with a pretty angsty romance. It works so well, and even though I’ve wanted to throw the book sometimes because of how slow burning it is, it truly is the best kind of romance, and they’re amazing in A Conjuring of Light.

 

 Screen shot 2014-11-16 at 3.39.53 PM.png

Noah and Mara from The Mara Dyer Trilogy

What I loved about this relationship is that usually it’s the male that’s the more angsty partner in a romance, and in this one I actually think Mara ended up being that character.

Even though Noah was very closed off to start with and appeared to be not very nice, and was extremely sarcastic and laid back, in the end you found out why and he was the sweetest book boyfriend ever. Mara however is pretty messed up because of her past and the things that she can do, so didn’t want to stuff things up, which meant their relationship went through a lot of angst and anger before finally sorting itself out.

 

Hook-Emma-date-insert-1-once-upon-a-time.png

Emma and Hook from Once Upon a Time

I haven’t started the latest season of OUAT yet, so I don’t know what’s happening with Emma and Hook at the moment, but stuff just keeps getting thrown at them! The world is constantly trying to tear them apart and every now and then they decide that maybe it’s for the best. They started off pretty much as enemies when Hook was the ultimate bad boy, and slowly started trusting each other more and falling for each other.

They are both such closed off characters who have been through a lot, and it makes me so happy how they share stuff with each other now. They are one of my favourite couples ever, despite the fair amount of angst, and that may or may not have something to do with the fact that Hook is absolutely gorgeous.

 

6-Nerf-Herder-CROPPED.jpg

Han and Leia from Star Wars

Recently I’ve been watching the Star Wars movies and it’s so cool, because now I understand where a whole bunch of scenes and references actually come from! Han and Leia are definitely both fairly broody characters and they butt heads a lot, but in the end it doesn’t stop them from falling for each other. I really enjoyed how once they were together, they didn’t stop being who they were, they still argued and were stubborn, but at the same time they knew that they would work things out and they loved each other. Watching The Force Awakens broke my heart though, and I’m very excited for the new movie this year!

 

That’s it for today, I’m looking forward to seeing what relationships everyone else chose and to see if I actually answered today’s topic correctly! I hope you enjoyed this post and let me know in the comments some of your favourite angsty romances!

 

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday March 22nd- Favourite Angsty Romances

  1. I haven’t read/seen any of these except for TMI but I totally agree; there is a TON of angst between Jace and Clary! I was going to mention them in my T5W post! But I mean I already chose 6 (!) romances because I couldn’t decide which one to cut out! So sadly they didn’t make it 😀 I’ll definitely check out the other books!

    Like

    1. I definitely recommend all the other books and shows on this list! It was quite hard narrowing it down in the end but I had to put a Cassandra Clare couple as she writes such angsty relationships! 💕😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t wait for the latest season to be completely out so I can just sit down and binge it! It’s so good and they’re so adorable! I wish Netflix in Aus had OUAT😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

