March Favourites

 

Good (insert whatever time of day it is where you are)! I was going to do this post on Friday but I decided that I really felt like writing and posting it today, so that’s what I’m doing! Favourites posts are some of my favourite (see what I did there?) to read and they always make me happy when I write them, because I get to look back on all the things I’ve enjoyed (and obsessed over) during the month! There were quite a few things that I loved in March, some of which are very random and out there!

f1adcd84e5f1fbbcdd2ca371bdcd4406

Beauty and the Beast Movie and Soundtrack

This one really shouldn’t be a surprise. I spent the whole month watching and rewatching the trailers, desperately waiting for the preview screening I was going to. Well, the screening was last Wednesday and it was everything I wanted and more. The sets, the music, the actors, the story; everything about this was perfect and did the original movie justice. I haven’t stopped thinking about it since I saw it, and I’ve had the soundtrack playing pretty much constantly the past few days. ‘Evermore’ is one of my favourite new songs and brings tears to my eyes every time I hear it. I really can’t wait to see this movie again! I did a review of the movie on my blog last week, you can check it out here.

ODhBNQ==

Jamberry Nail Wraps

One of my mum’s friends is a seller of these nail wraps and although I already had a couple of sets, I really had a look at all the amazing designs this month, and ordered some BATB ones to wear when I saw the movie. It’s such an amazing way to put some colour and pattern on your nails without a nail artist doing it. It amazes me how intricate they are and that you can do it at home by yourself. I’ve loved wearing them this month and it makes me happy seeing Belle and the Beast every time I look at my nails. They are quite affordable and I definitely recommend getting a set if you want some fun art on your nails (they last a few weeks as well and don’t chip like regular nail polish).

Processed with VSCO

My Ukulele

This is a very weird favourite, but I managed to acquire a ukulele at the start of the month when my neighbour was getting rid of one somebody had left at their house a couple of years ago. It’s a really gorgeous blue and is in really good condition. I play the clarinet but I’ve never played the uke before and it’s been really fun watching YouTube videos this month trying to teach myself to play. I’m not very good yet, but I love practicing when I have a few minutes, and it makes such a happy sound.

180927-de-stranger-things-veja-o-que-ira-aco-diapo-2

Stranger Things

I finally started watching Stranger Things with my mum a couple of weeks ago, and we didn’t really have any expectations, or know what it was about, but I seriously love it. We are an episode and a half away from finishing Season One and I have a horrible suspicion that it’s going to end on a cliffhanger and leave me hanging until Season Two in October. It just keeps getting more and more intense and revealing new plot twists that leave me on the edge of my seat. I adore all the characters, and love how they all end up coming together. I think Eleven is my favourite, she’s such a sweetheart but she’s also incredibly scary and powerful! You’ll probably get an update of me screaming once I finish the last episode. If you haven’t watched it, I highly recommend this weird and freaky story, as it won’t go anywhere you expect it to.

confessjpg

The Confess Trailer

I am a huge Colleen Hoover fan and when the trailer was released for the TV adaption of Confess, I FREAKED out! It’s one of my favourite books by her, and the trailer looks perfect. Even Owen’s artwork is the same style as the pictures in the novel. I also couldn’t believe that it’s coming so soon and has actually been made, unlike the trailer for Ugly Love, which was released two years ago but there’s been no development. I’ve watched the trailer over and over again and I think I’m going to reread the novel before April 4th so I’m completely refreshed before I binge watch the show! My only hope is that they don’t drag it out, given that the book is only a standalone.

bigstock_Audio_book_14340599-e1330386218724

Audiobooks

I do quite a bit of busy work for my mum at home, like cutting and laminating all the flashcards and posters that she uses in her classroom. I’ve been doing this since February in silence, but at the beginning of the month I decided that maybe I should give audiobooks a try so I can fill the silence. I’ve wanted to reread the first three Lunar Chronicles novels, since it’s been ages and I want to refresh myself before finally reading Winter. I wasn’t sure if I could actually be bothered though since there are other books I want to read as well, and I ended up finding the audiobook for Cinder on YouTube.

I didn’t think I was going to be into it, but surprisingly I’m really enjoying reading books this way, and it’s a great way to do a reread. I love being back in the Lunar Chronicles world as I’d forgotten how much I adore this story and the characters.

The voice actress is really amazing, and I’m able to completely get absorbed into the story after a few moments, which I wasn’t expecting at all. I’m now onto Scarlet and I need to do some research about the best place to get audiobooks from, so if you have any advice on that front, it would be much appreciated.

Unknown

Banana Smoothies

I like having smoothies for breakfast as I find them easier to eat and get down, but lately the green ones I’ve been having have been making me feel quite sick so I’ve gotten back into having a plain banana smoothie most days and it’s so good! There is just something about banana, Greek yoghurt and a bit of honey that really sets up your day.

ConjuringLight-UKCover

A Conjuring of Light by V.E.Schwab

This book has swept me up heart and soul this month and I still haven’t actually finished it. As I’m writing this I have about 20 pages to go but I’m putting off reading them because I don’t want this incredible series to finish, even though I really want to see what happens. This whole month I’ve just started reading slower and slower, to make it last as long as possible because it’s just that good. It’s such a spectacular action packed finish and I think I’ll write a review about it once I’ve finished to talk about my thoughts on it a bit more. I suspect it’s going to be hard to write though as I’ll be fangirling too much to actually focus. Still, it’s been amazing and I’m so glad I decided to pick up this series.

 

That’s it for today’s post; I hope you enjoyed reading my ramblings about my odd assortment of favourites this month! Let me know in the comments what you’ve been obsessed with in March!

 

 

8 thoughts on “March Favourites

  1. Beauty and the Beast totally exceeded my expectations! I left the theaters with tears in my eyes. “Evermore” was my favorite song of the movie, which was really surprising considering it was one of the new ones. I keep replaying it at home!

    Also, Stranger Things is so good!! Glad you’re enjoying it. 🙂

    Like

    1. I was not expecting to cry as much as I did and going in i didn’t even know that they were going to add new songs! they blended in so well though with the old ones and Evermore is just so amazing and heartbreaking. I’ve had it playing non stop at home as well.
      Thank you! I can’t wait to see how the series ends!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A Conjuring Of Light would definitely be on my list of favorites! But unlike you, I didn’t have the willpower to slow myself down while reading the book! I tried to, but that didn’t really work out! But it was so worth it. Even the cry fest I had at 4AM after reading the events of about page 500. I was shaking and crying and it was heartbreaking!

    Like

    1. I just finished it and i am a complete and utter mess right now. I just sat there sitting for ages and crying because of how perfect it was but also how much it broke my heart. All the deaths tore me apart and even Kell losing some of his Antari had me gasping for breath because of how important it was to him. But the ending was wonderful! I just want more! Even if all it is is Lila telling Kell how to run a ship, and Alucard teasing Rhy. That can’t be the end…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooooh I love Favourites posts! The Beauty and the Beast soundtrack was pretty much the only thing I listened to this month so I can totally relate! And I am obsessed with Banana smoothies!!! I’d drink them for the rest of my life 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

