Top 5 Wednesday March 29th- Books I think will become Classics

Hello! I just finished A Conjuring of Light and am actually a sobbing mess behind this computer screen but that’s beside the point. It’s Wednesday, which means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday post! This week’s topic is books you think will become classics one day, and to start with I didn’t really have any ideas on this, but then several came to me at random and I had to quickly write them down before I forgot (like 3am).

There are a lot of different definitions on what a classic actually is and what it takes to become one. Is it just a book that has been around for a while, one that got super hyped up, or one that actually represents the issues at the time that it was written, and will therefore give people in the future a glimpse into our world? I’m going to go with a bit of a combo of all of them today.

 

unnamed.jpg

The Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

This probably a bit of an obvious one but Harry Potter is one of the most famous series ever and I suspect people are never really going to forget about it, as time goes on, people might study it more to look back on our age, but for most, it will simply be a beloved series that helps them grow up still believing there is magic in this world. It’s iconic and is only going to get more treasured as time goes on. I also believe that the movies will never really age and we’ll still be watching them in 200 years time.

 

Hunger_games_trilogy.jpg

The Hunger Games by Susanne Collins

Again, probably another obvious one, but the Hunger Games already has many makings of at least a modern classic. It blew up when it came out (especially once the movies were out), and was such a huge opening into Dystopian books especially YA ones, as at the time, there hadn’t been many new ones written since novels like ‘1984’ and ‘The Chrysalides’. While Dystopian isn’t my favourite genre I do think this series is very important and an eye opener into what the world could very possibly become. It’s even already being used to study in schools which I think is a big indicator of it’s potential to become a classic (we all know that the novels we read in school, while not the most enjoyable, are the ones that society deems ‘important’ for some reason, and are almost always classics).

 

A_Monster_Calls.jpg

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Although this book isn’t as popular as some, I think it’s one of those books that will quietly survive and never grow outdated. It has a lot of important messages and a beautiful writing style that will live on. It might not be the first classic that people think of when asked to name a classic in the future (like Pride and Prejudice, or War and Peace), but I think people will still know about it and it will definitely still be relevant and important, no matter how old it gets. Personally this is the kind of book I would have loved to study in school as it is one of my all time favourites, even though I don’t hype about it as much as other novels.

 

15950494._UY200_.jpg

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Now I’m adding this to the list, but personally I found this book okay, but I didn’t love it and find it absolutely inspiring as I know many people have. I’ve never really related to coming of age novels though, as I think I always just skipped through that part of life (I’ve always been an old soul). I still think this book will definitely reach classic stage though, as for many it is extremely relatable and always will be, because who we are as humans and what we need to deal with things, will never really change as time goes by. This book deals with a lot of important issues about realizing who you are and what you want, and is in some ways already a classic, as teenagers have been reading it for many years. Like THG, it’s already being studied in schools, and I suspect will even more so in the future, when people will need to look at how teenagers lived and dealt during the time it was written.

 

 32613366.jpg

The Hate You Give by Angie Thomas

Now, I’m actually taking a bit of a gamble with this one, as I haven’t actually read it yet (I will soon though), but already this seems like a book that is making such an impact on those who read it, and is a real eye opener about how life is for some people. Everyone is saying such amazing things about it and I think it will just get more important as time goes on, when people want to look back and see what an impact the Black Lives Matter movement made, especially given we live in a time when so much change is happening.

 

Some sneaky little extras…

A couple of others that I think will become classics but couldn’t officially fit into my ‘five’ are The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime and The Book Thief. The Book Thief is one of my all time favourite novels and was such an eye opener into life during WWII and I think will be for others for years to come. TCIOTDITNT is one that is already being used in schools and is a very important insight into the lives and minds of those living with autism.

 

Now these are only the books that I think will become classics, I don’t necessarily love all of them as much as I love other books. There are several novels that I would love to become classics, but I don’t think they ever became popular or controversial enough world wide to do so. Even though there are lots of amazing books that deserve to become classics, I think that it’s only the ones that blow up and you hear about everywhere, and are often a bit weird, that actually end up reaching that status. Maybe I’ll do a post at some point about the books that I want to become classics, not think will. 

Personally I hope I’m around for these books to all get gorgeous covers as we all know that classics as part of collections always have stunning outsides!

 

That’s it for today guys, let me know in the comments some of the books you think will become classics, or the ones you love but don’t think ever will!

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday March 29th- Books I think will become Classics

Leave a Reply

