Top 5 Wednesday April 5- Top Sci-Fi/ Fantasy Books on your TBR!

Hello! I just want to start by saying that I’m really sorry I haven’t been very active the past two weeks. Life got really hard for a little while, and I’m not really sure what happened. But I’m back now (hopefully), and I thought today I would catch up on last week’s Top 5 Wednesday Topic (Yes I know it’s Monday)!

So, I’m just going to say this now, that narrowing down this week’s Top 5 Wednesday list to five was SO hard! Pretty much all I read is fantasy, and the majority of my TBR pile is fantasy as well, which meant taking a list of about 300 and choosing the five that I want to read most. You should all be very proud of me for doing it. I definitely am. Okay, let’s do this.

Top Five Wednesday is hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes and If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!

Unknown.jpg

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

This book has been on my list for a while now, and I actually own the first and second books but haven’t gotten around to reading them. I love books with witches, and there actually aren’t that many around, so I’m very eager to read this series and see if I like it! I’ve heard the friendship is awesome, and the powers the witches have are even better, so it’s very high on my list of fantasy books to read.

 29845906._UY200_.jpg

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

This is another book I own but haven’t got to yet. When it came out it was SO popular and everyone loved it, but I actually don’t really have any idea what it’s about. I think there might be an assassin, which I’m always up for. It’s also by an Australian author which makes me very happy, as I ‘ve been wanting to get into more Aussie authors and novels!

 23395680.jpg

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Now, I don’t really read much sci-fi these days, but this novel looks so intriguing with it’s format that I really want to give it a try. It’s written in emails, and poems and records, which is so different from normal books. I don’t really know what this one is about either but everyone loves it, and it’s by Australian authors as well, so I really want to read it!

the-raven-boys-maggie-stiefvater.jpg

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

I actually caved in last year and bought the whole series in hardback, which I never do, but the covers were so pretty I couldn’t resist. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about Blue and her Raven boys, so I think I might just binge read all four books at some point, when I have time to sit and properly enjoy them. I have a feeling I’m going to be completely sucked in, as the premise of the novels sounds really intriguing and different from other fantasy novels!

17199504.jpg

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

I bought this book for $4 from Book Depository a couple of months ago, after hearing so many people talk about it on Bookstagram. I know the third book has just come out, and people are saying that it’s amazing as well, so hopefully I really enjoy it. I don’t really know what it’s about but I’m pretty sure it’s set in London and has something to do with people’s dreams, which is right up my alley. I’m considering going into it without even reading the blurb, so that it’s even more of a surprise for me!

 

That’s it for today’s (very late) Top 5 Wednesday! These were just five SFF books out of many that are on my TBR, and I’m hoping to get to them all very soon. Although let’s be honest, I’m probably going to get distracted by other books and end up putting them on a similar list in a year’s time. I can dream though right? What are some Sci-Fi and Fantasy books that are high on your TBR pile?

Leave a Reply

