Top 5 Wednesday April 12th- Books that would make good Video Games  

Hello everyone! I’m so sorry I haven’t been very active this week. After my birthday I started coming down with a nasty head cold, and now my dad has it as well so we are both feeling pretty miserable. The good thing is that it is Easter so we can eat lots of chocolate! 

Now, when I read today’s Top 5 Wednesday topic, a part of me was very excited and a part of me was dreading it. This is because I don’t really play video games; the closest I get is all the mystery games I play on my iPad! Still, I’m going to do my best today, and wing it!

Top Five Wednesday is hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes and If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!

 

lunar-chronicles-by-marissa-meyer

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

This series would make such an epic video game. It’s full of such badass females and the storyline is awesome and would never get boring in video game form. It’s the perfect blend of action and having to actually think to solve problems. I can see it including lots of mini games that require problem solving throughout the game, like getting Cinder to fix her car, or even just doing Cress’s exercise tapes with her on the satellite.

The fairytale element would also add a lot of fun to it and the fact that there’s lots of travelling both on Earth and Luna, would mean there’s never a dull moment! Plus, getting to see Iko would be hilarious!

6698199

The Agency Series by Y.S. Lee

This is one of my favourite mystery/detective novels ever and it would make a really good mystery iPad game like all the ones that I usually play. I can see each book having it’s own individual game, since each novel has a really intricate crime. Mary Quinn is such a strong female character and I think she would be awesome in game form. It’s also set in Victorian London, which is one of my favourite periods ever, so being able to see it would be an amazing experience!

 annauk

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

You might be scrunching your nose up at this one because it doesn’t have much action at all, but I think it would make a really cool Sims style game. I can see it being played out in Paris with Anna as the person you control, and then trying to navigate her through high school in Paris, with lots of swoon worthy moments with Etienne. Plus, I think it would be a really pretty game to play if all the graphics were good quality, because of all the Paris sights and old buildings!

 Red_Queen_book_cover

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Similar to The Lunar Chronicles, this series has a lot of action, and I think it’s dystopian-fantasy setting would make it even more suitable for a video game. It would be really fun getting to see the plot twists unwind, as well as actually getting to see all the Silver and red abilities everyone has!

Screen shot 2014-11-16 at 3.39.53 PM

The Mara Dyer series by Michelle Hodkins

The Mara Dyer series would probably freak me out in video game form, given that it’s the closest I’ve ever come to reading horror, but it would be SO worth it. This novel is full of suspense and tinged with lots of creepy moments and they would all look so good in a video game. The flashbacks would also add an intriguing element and would help to slowly unravel Mara’s past and her abilities. Plus, Noah Shaw; need I say more?

 

I hope you enjoyed this week’s Top 5 Wednesday and my interpretation of what books would make good video games! Do you play video games? What books do you think would be good as one?

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday April 12th- Books that would make good Video Games  

Leave a Reply

