Books to Feed your Beauty and the Beast Obsession

If you didn’t already know, I’m pretty obsessed with Beauty and the Beast at the moment. And to be honest, I’m not sure it’s going to go away any time soon. I’ve always loved the original movie, and now that the live action is out, I’m even more in love with this beautiful story. I love the characters and the music and the plot; all of it is just amazing. So, because of this obsession of mine, I’ve been buying a lot of Beauty and the Beast things to feed my obsession. I’ve bought a water bottle, some Funko pops, even some leggings and a t-shirt so I can wear my fandom with pride.

giphy.gif

The thing that I’ve been loving the most though is books. Books are the thing that take me back to the magic of the movie without having to actually watch it. I’ve ordered quite a few to read, and today I thought I would share a whole lot of Beauty and the Beast novels with you, since there aren’t many good lists out there that really have them all in the one place.

 

(The Link to the official synopsis’ are in the titles of the books if you want to further check them out and read the proper blurbs!)

24485589.jpg

Hunted by Meagan Spooner

This novel was only released a month or so ago, but I’ve already heard so many good things about it! I’ve heard the ‘Beauty’ is a real badass, and the story not only explores BATB, but also a Russian fairytale. I can’t wait for my copy to arrive so I can start reading it, along with a group of girls I talk to on bookstagram!

edf5af812c10298bd98aa2d3e333b921.png

Beauty and the Beast Lost in a Book by Jennifer Donnelly

I just finished reading this book and it was so friggin adorable! It wasn’t a retelling as such, because it was about Belle and the Beast, but it was a story that could have taken place while Belle spent all that time in the castle. It fitted in really nicely with the original tale, and was about a magical book called Nevermore that Belle finds one day in the library, and ends up escaping into to get away from life in the castle. Although I really enjoyed all the parts where Belle had her adventures inside Nevermore, my favourite scenes were the ones where Belle was in the castle, and interacting with the Beast and the staff. There were so many adorable moments that had me squealing (e.g. Chip’s Birthday Party) and it really gave a bit more depth to the tale (did you know the coat rack is called Chapeau? I didn’t!).

15839984.jpg

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

This is probably one of the better-known BATB retellings and when I read it a couple of years ago I really enjoyed it. It was an interesting take on the original story, and I did not see several of the plot twists coming. The writing style was unique but really beautiful and I definitely recommend this if you want a bit of a different take on Beauty and the Beast.

33616857.jpg

As Old as Time by Liz Branwell

I ordered this when I got Lost in a Book, and like that novel, it’s not a retelling exactly, because it is about all the original characters. It’s more of a twist on the story we all know, adding more depth and exploring other possibilities and plot lines within the tale. I haven’t read it yet but I’m very excited to, given how many good things I’ve heard about it!

 167167.jpg 

The Beauty and the Beast by Gabrielle-Suzanne Barbot de Villeneuve

This is the original classic that started it all, and this edition was published especially to coincide with the release of the movie. It’s such a stunning book and the inside has pictures and flaps and all sorts of interactive things that go along with the story. I’m really excited to get myself a copy of this gorgeous edition to see what the original story is like, given that a lot of Disney movies make big changes from the original stories (you’d be horrified if you knew the ending to the classic The Little Mermaid!).

 A1cXCIxSMdL.jpg

Beauty and the Beast Colouring Book (MacMillan)

My mum picked me up this colouring book a couple of weeks ago and it’s one of my new favourite colouring books. The illustrations are so beautiful and it even has quotes in it from the original story. One of my favourite things to do at the moment when I can’t read is to make a cup of tea and colour this in while listening to the soundtrack from the movie. It’s BATB heaven and I think my eyes well up every time Evermore comes on!

 Unknown 2.jpg

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

Apart from Cruel Beauty, this is probably one of the most well known YA BATB retellings. I think Sarah did a really good job with this retelling, and I have a theory that she’s actually woven the original story into ACOMAF as well. I think there are certain characters in ACOMAF that are more like the beast than the love interest in ACOTAR (feel free to comment if you know what I’m talking about so we can chat about my theories on it!). I definitely recommend reading this series though, as the writing is amazing and the way she weaves the storylines and characters is incredible. Plus, loads of hot fae, and heaps of wonderful quotes.

51x3nzDvN-L._SX364_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Belle’s Library

I desperately want a copy of this cute little book, as it’s not exactly a novel, but a collection of quotes put together by Belle! It even has little annotations that she’s made beside them, and I think it would be so cool to have a collection of quotes that Belle loves!

9781474852470.jpg

Beauty and the Beast Book of the Film

If you just feel like reliving the live action movie word for word all over again, then I think this is the book to go with. It’s the book of the film, and I know I’m going to end up with a copy of it at some point!

Unknown

The Beast Within

I don’t really know much about this book, only that it’s part of a Disney series of novels that explores the lives of some of the villains. This one of course, is all about the Beast and shows a bit more about who he is and how he came to be so cruel and ‘beast like’.

 

I hope some of these books have taken your interest and will help feed your obsession for Beauty and the Beast, just like they have mine! If there are any books that you know of that aren’t on this list please let me know! I need more to add to my collection!

 

One thought on “Books to Feed your Beauty and the Beast Obsession

Leave a Reply

