Goodbye April…

 

A pinch and a punch for the first day of the month! Normally I would be freaking out about May being here already, but May means we finally get ACOWAR so I am totally okay with the fact that April is over!!! April was also a bit of a weird month for me, but it was an epic reading month and I’m very proud of myself.

 

April Wrap-up

I’m really proud of myself for the amount of reading I did this month! My only goal was to really finish my ACOMAF reread, but then somehow I managed to get through six other books as well! I really enjoyed all the books I read this month and I read my first ever poetry collection, so I’m ticking off my reading resolutions for this year! The books I read in April are:

 

-A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas (reread)

-Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

-Beauty and the Beast Lost in a Book

-The Selection by Kiera Cass

-The Elite by Kiera Cass

-The One by Kiera Cass

-The Heir by Kiera Cass

 Read All the Books.jpg

April Book Haul

I did really well in April on the book haul front because it was my birthday, so I got quite a few books, and vouchers to bookstores! I also won a twitter giveaway for a 2017 YA release, which was exciting!

 

Book Depository

-Beauty and the Beast Lost in a Book by Jennifer Donnelly

-As Old As Time by Liz Braswell

 

Birthday and Birthday Book Vouchers

-Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

-Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone Illustrated Edition by J.K.Rowling

-The Heir by Kiera Cass

-The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace

-The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

-The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

-The Beauty and the Beast by Gabrielle-Suzanne Barbot de Villeneuve

IMG_20170428_221629_874.jpg
Not going to lie, this was definitely a cover buy!

Twitter Giveaway

-Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

 

Other

-The Hate You Give by Angie Thomas

 

May TBR

I’m not going to set my TBR too high for May, because it’s going to be a very busy month for me. The only book I’m really hoping to get through is ACOWAR, but given that it’s a monster of a book, it might actually take me forever to read (and let’s be honest, I’m probably going to drag it out as long as possible so it never ends). If by some miracle I finish it with lots of days to spare and don’t get thrown into an epic book hangover, I might possibly read either Lord of Shadows or The Color Project.

Unknown.jpg 

 

Spoonie Stuff and Life in April

 It was my birthday on the 11th and I had a really awesome day (I uploaded a bit of a birthday blog post here). My family made me feel so special, and then a couple of days later I had my friends around for a party, and it was one of the best nights I’ve had this year. My friends are weird and crazy, but honestly so wonderful, and they make me laugh so hard and feel so loved, especially at a time in my life when I really need it.

 

Pretty much straight after my birthday though, my dad and I both caught an epic dose of the flu, so spent pretty much the entirety of our two week school holiday break curled up in bed and feeling somewhat miserable (I’m blaming him, he’s blaming me. Why do we always get sick when we have time off to do fun stuff?).

 

Spoonie wise nothing has really changed at all. I’ve been pretty rough because of the flu, and haven’t done much therapy but I’m getting back into it all now that I’m recovering from being sick.

 

I did a lot of dog sitting for my neighbours and it’s been so nice having a dog back in the house. Molly is so adorable and is very happy to chill with me and give me cuddles. (here’s a picture to make your day)

 

20170501_121241-1.jpg
Isn’t she adorable!!???

Easter came and went in April, which meant lots of baking with my mum and eating lots of chocolate and hot cross buns. And of course, watching the Vicar of Dibley Easter Special.

 

I wasn’t as active on my blog as I was hoping to be in April, because of how unwell I was, and a few other things personal things that ended up taking up a lot of time and energy.

 

On a really exciting note I received my first ever e-ARC from Sierra Abrams of her book The Color Project. I’m SO excited to read and review it, it looks like a really adorable contemporary, and Sierra is such a sweet person.

 

22892448.jpg
I can’t believe how pretty this cover is!!!

Okay, I think that’s everything I have to say for this month’s wrap up! Let me know anything exciting you did during the month of April!

 

One thought on “Goodbye April…

  1. Happy belated Birthday! I’m glad you were able to have a great birthday before getting sick! And congrats on reading so many books too! ACOWAR and Lord Of Shadows are the only books I KNOW I want to read this month – I just hope I’ll get out of this weird slump that I seem to find myself in right now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

