Top 5 Wednesday May 3rd- Favourite SFF Covers

I’m not going to lie, I do judge books by their covers, and I do buy books because of their covers. Sci-fi and Fantasy novels have some of the prettiest covers out there, so it makes sense that I have a ton of SFF novels on my shelf purely because the covers are gorgeous (I will get to them all someday, I know the story inside will be just as good!). This week’s T5W made me so happy because I got to sort through pretty books on my shelf, but also extremely stressed because I had to narrow it down to five!

Top Five Wednesday is hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes and If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!

9781784871055.jpg

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (Penguin Vintage Classics edition)

Even though the original cover for this book is pretty as well, the Vintage Classics edition is STUNNING. I spent 2 extra dollars on book depository a couple of months back just so I could get this pretty cover. It was totally worth it, and yes, I am going to read it because I’ve heard so many wonderful things about the story as well.

 

13138635.jpg

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Normally I’m not really into books with people on them but the Star bound series is an exception. I love the design of these covers and they look so whimsical and make me want to board a TARDIS and run away to space, in the hopes of seeing something close to these covers up close and personal.

17378508.jpg

Blue Lily Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

These books were total cover buys for me. I bought the whole Raven Cycle series in hardback at once because the covers are so gorgeous. And I never buy hardbacks normally. Although I love all the covers, I think Blue Lily Lily Blue is my favourite. There’s just something about it that’s really whimsical. I also love The Raven King cover, because really, can you ever go past a dear? I’ve heard this series is very different from others, but I’m so excited to read it and see what I think, since most people rave about it!

nevernight-book-cover-battle-uk-vs-us.png

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

I actually can’t decide whether I like the US or UK cover more. I have the one with the bird, which is gorgeous, but I also love how dark and mysterious the US cover is. I can’t wait to see what the UK cover for the second book is, since that’s the copy I’m going to end up getting to match my copy of Nevernight (again this is another book I desperately need to read but haven’t yet. I feel like it’s a trend with today’s post).

71lRLfv-auL.jpg

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Although I love all the different versions of the Caraval cover (especially the spine of the UK paperback), I think the naked hardback of the UK edition is SO beautiful. I love the idea of having mystery pictures under the dust jacket, and I’m very tempted to buy a copy, just so I can see which picture I get (I love them all but I think the dress and the circus tent are my favourite!). And I think it will be totally justified to get a second copy given how much I loved this book (the logic of a bookworm).

b2ee0ec90bd0f15c9af861aa5f60a875.jpg

Also, as a sneaky little extra, although the original cover of the Shadowhunter novels will always have a special place in my heart, I have to admit that I’ve been drooling over the new covers since they came out, and I’m not sure how much longer I can resist buying them. I mean, just look at how gorgeous those spines will look on a bookshelf.

 

That’s it for todays post, thank you for putting up with all my Fangirlish rambles about my favourite SFF covers! What book covers made you have to buy the book just so it could be on your shelf?

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday May 3rd- Favourite SFF Covers

Leave a Reply

