Top 5 Wednesday May 10th- Books as Event Themes

So I’m writing this on May 2nd, which is the day ACOWAR comes out, and I’m anxiously waiting and looking out the window to see if the postman has my parcel. He probably thinks I’m a stalker. Anyways, I’m trying to fill some time by getting some blog posts written ahead and I love this month’s T5W topics.

Today’s is Books as Event Themes, which is something that I think about a lot, even before this topic came up. I love planning parties (even more than I love going to them), and I often spend hours on pinterest, putting together boards of book inspired events. Needless to say, I’m very excited about today’s topic. (Update, this post is going up two days late because life got hectic. My box did arrive, and yes, ACOWAR is killing me but in the best possible way).

Top Five Wednesday is hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes and If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!

acomaf-cover-3

An ACOMAF Inspired Wedding

This would actually be the most beautiful thing ever in my opinion. I can see a marquee set up outside at night time, with maybe some sort of bridge leading up to it, that sort of looks like the rainbow of Velaris. The whole thing would be inspired by Velaris at nighttime, with hundreds of fairy lights strung across the roof to make it seem like the stars at night. I’d have lanterns that look like the spirits on Starfall strung up as well, to make the place feel extra special. There’d be jasmine on the tables as well as ocean-scented candles, to give the whole wedding an amazing smell. I could go on and on, but you probably get the idea that I’ve put a lot of thought into this. And if I’m lucky Rhys would be there.

giphy.gif

Alice in Wonderland Unbirthday Tea Party

I’ve always loved the idea of the Unbirthday Party in Alice in Wonderland, because it’s an excuse to have a party for no reason, and celebrate everybody’s ‘Unbirthdays’, not just one person. I’m actually planning on having one of these in the next year or so when my health is better, to celebrate for no reason, and just enjoy my friends and being well again. I’d love to put a long table outside in a park, with bright colours and mismatched teacups and plates. There would be crazy hats and deck of cards for decoration, as well as some quotes from the story. I’d serve lots of yummy finger food, and have croquet set up to play (croquet is a lot of fun and I don’t even want to think about the trouble my friends would cause playing it).

giphy 2.gif

Harry Potter Sorting Hat Christening Party

Not that I’ll be having a baby anytime soon or anything, but I’ve always thought it would be awesome to have a Sorting Hat themed party after a christening or something along that line. I think it would be really cute to have snitches hung around the room and serve Hogwarts inspired food (and butter beer!). The guest invitations would be like Harry’s Hogwarts letter, and I’d make them all guess what the baby’s Hogwarts house is when they first arrive. At some point during the party, I’d place something blue, red, yellow and green on the floor then place the baby a little bit away from them on the floor as well. Whichever item it crawls towards and picks up is what it’s Hogwarts house is! (this is actually similar to a Chinese tradition where you put objects that represent something on the floor and whichever the baby chooses is what it’s occupation will be. For example if it chooses a book, it will be a librarian or teacher).

23403402-_uy200_

A Darker Shade of Magic Party

Now that I’ve had this idea, I’m very excited to throw this party just for the hell of it. I think it would be awesome to give each person on their invite a “London” that they have to come dressed from. Whether it’s Red, White, Grey or Black London. I would love to see what everyone chose to wear from their world, and it would be really fun to add elements from each different London into the party decorations. Having some Red London food, but Grey London decorations… I’d also be very tempted to find black contacts and put one in to make myself an Antari!

missperegrine_334x518.jpg

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

This is another one that I think would be really fun to play around with the decorations and costumes. Since it’s set in different eras you could have elements from each at the event and make people come up with their own peculiarity and dress accordingly. It’s also such a wacky book/movie that you could have so much fun making crazy food to fit, and have a mix of really bright eccentric colors and decorations, mixed with lots of vintage photographs and things that are old and falling apart. Personally, I’d probably choose fire as my peculiarity since that way I couldn’t get burned accidentally.

61czWGfS9PL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

And my sneaky little extra for the week since I can’t resist; I think hosting an event around the A Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy would be amazing. Maybe an engagement party since it’s such a beautiful story with lots of romantic elements. I think you could have so much fun with the angels and monsters elements, as well as all the wishes and notes of travel.

 

That’s it for this week’s Top 5 Wednesday, and even though I say every week that I love the topic, this week was a personal favourite. I’ve actually decided that there should be a whole career that centres on planning fictional themed parties and events. Would any of you support me on this? I hoped you liked this post and let me know some book themed events you would go to!

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday May 10th- Books as Event Themes

Leave a Reply

