My Favourite Fictional Mums

Hello! Today it is Mother’s Day in Australia, which mean celebrating all the super heroes in our lives who encouraged our book hoarding obsessions from a young age and let us read past our bedtime (or is that just me???). 

I love my mum and she does so much for me, especially these days now that my health isn’t too great. I’m off to see ‘I am Groot’ with her and my dad (or is it called Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2??? I feel like that’s incorrect because we all know Groot is the only character that matters), and then dad and I am going to ‘attempt’ to cook her something edible for dinner.

 

I thought today I would do a bit of a post celebrating all the fictional mums I love that have nurtured me, and their awesome children over the years. Coming across parents in YA is pretty rare because they are either dead, or just aren’t in the picture because their kids are off doing super important save the world stuff. There are a few mums I’d like to list though, so let’s get into it.

preloaded-image-2603.jpg

Mrs Weasley from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Just going to get this one out of the way right now. I couldn’t leave this wonderful red head out, but I’m sure she is everyone else’s favourite fictional mum too. I love how she so easily takes Harry under her wing as one of her own, and growing up I always wanted to live at the burrow and get weirdly knitted clothing for Christmas. Still do to be honest.

Unknown.jpg

Penny’s Mum from the Girl Online Series by Zoe Sugg

Parents are somewhat more common in contemporary novels, and I really adored Penny’s mum in this series. She’s so supportive of all of Penny’s anxiety problems and is always happy to look after Penny’s best friend Elliot when he needs some extra advice and care as well. Also, the fact that she owns a wedding planner store is amazing. I think every little girl’s dream is to grow up having access to flowers and wedding dresses and every possible themed item imaginable for a wedding!

Unknown 2

Alis from the ACOTAR Series by Sarah J Maas

Now, I know that Alis isn’t technically Feyre’s mother, and her nephews aren’t technically her own children, but I think she is such a motherly figure that I had to include her. Even though Alis works in the Spring Court, I love how she is always so supportive of whatever Feyre needs to do, and is probably more of a mother to her than Feyre’s own mother was. She helps Feyre grow into the person she is and I’m really looking forward to finishing ACOWAR and seeing more of her. Alis really reminds me of Mrs Potts, which I guess is appropriate given this is a Beauty and the Beast retelling.

darker-shade-magic-book

Queen Emira from the ADSOM series by V.E.Schwab

In the first two books of this series I really liked Emira as a character and the way she treated Kell as her own son. In the third book though, I grew to love and respect her when you get to see things from her point of view and find out everything that goes on inside her head. She is such a strong character even though many would perceive her as weak, and the battle that she went through as a mother to both Rhy and Kell made my heart break a little, but love her more for it.

The_Selection.jpg

Queen Amberley from The Selection Series by Kiera Cass

I sense a queen theme happening. Queen Amberley is another mum that I’ve recently grown to love through my binge read of The Selection series. It was tragic all that she went through to become a mother, and all that she had to put up with and learn through becoming queen from being pretty much a nobody. I loved all of her scenes with the Selection girls and she had so much wisdom and kindness to offer them, even when they might not be staying long in the palace.

13206760.jpg

Scarlet’s Grandmother from The Lunar Chronicles Series by Marissa Meyer

Even though we don’t really get to see much of Scarlet’s grandmother and she wasn’t the best mother in the traditional sense, she taught Scarlet so much, and taught her things that most people wouldn’t have really bothered to teach a girl. She taught Scarlet to be strong and gave her a family when she didn’t really have one at all. And I think the whole crew of the Rampion would be dead several times over without the skills she taught Scarlet.

Unknown 2.jpg

Charlotte Branwell from The Infernal Devices Series by Cassandra Clare

Even though Charlotte isn’t really a mother for most of the series, I think she still fits the bill, given that she had to look after the whole crazy crew in the London Institute and was pretty much the only sensible one there. She had so much patience for Henry, even when he was on fire, and had so much love to give to Will, Jem and Tessa. Sophie was someone she was especially motherly to I think, and really helped her grow into herself, and move out of the shadow of her past. I’m really hoping that we get to see more of Henry and her when the These Last Hours books come out and see what she is like with her own children.

 

Okay, those are all my favourite fictional mums that I can think of for today. I hope you enjoyed this post and make sure to go and give your mums or motherly figures a huge hug today, even if it’s not Mother’s Day where you are.

 

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Fictional Mums

  1. What a lovely post! Yesterday I pre-wrote a post for Tuesday and I tried to think of mothers in literature but the only one that came to mind was Mrs. Weasley 😂 I haven’t read any of the other books though but they’re on my TBR so I’m excited to get to know these other awesome mums! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

