Top 5 Wednesday May 17th- Fabulous Summer Reads

So, Down Under, it’s actually Autumn and we are coming up to Winter, which is perfect for me, because I like nothing better than reading under a blanket while it’s raining. I was debating possibly turning this post into a Winter reads post, but thought ‘stuff it’ I’ll do that another day. For now I’ll present you with some wonderful books to read when the sun is shining and the ice cream is melting. (I really hope the majority of you are experiencing summer now unlike me, and have a need for this post). 

Top Five Wednesday is hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes and If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!

7514925

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

I recently read this, and even though I usually think of contemporaries as good summer reads, this one gave me a bit of a nostalgic summer vibe if that makes sense. It’s the story of Tiger Lily and Peter Pan and was such an innocent and hopeful story I completely devoured it. It’s a standalone fantasy, which is pretty rare and is quite short so is really quick to read (I don’t know about you but I like reading short books over Summer. Maybe because I can feel accomplished at the end of the season, since I’m able to fit more books in when they’re short??). I think this book also gave me Summery vibes because it was mainly set during the hot seasons in Neverland as well. You can check out my full review for it here.

13372690.jpg

Slammed by Colleen Hoover

This was one of the first Colleen Hoover books I ever read and it still remains one of my favourites. As far as her novels go, this is one of the less heavy duty ones, and personally it’s wonderful. Will and Lake are one of my favourite couples now and I loved all the cute moments that were scattered throughout this series. Plus, their friends are pretty great and this series opened me up to the world of Slam poetry, which I had never heard of before until I read this book. It’s really cool poetry and I’d YouTube it if you have a spare minute.

 annauk

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Even though it’s been a couple of years since I read this, it still remains one of my favourite contemporaries ever. Over Summer I love to travel and find new places, and this book filled me with so much wanderlust and a desire to just hop in the car and drive. Plus, Etienne and Anna are adorable and every one must read this to fully see for themselves the adorableness.

220px-Aristotle_and_Dante_Discover_the_Secrets_of_the_Universe_cover.jpg

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Given the fact that this whole book is basically set over different summers, I feel like it’s the ultimate summer read. It gave me so many wonderful summer vibes and made me feel like exploring and taking chances, plus it’s a really good starter if you are looking to get into the world of LGBTQ+ and diverse reads. Ari and Dante are adorable and the writing style is really beautiful.

The_Selection

The Selection by Kiera Cass

If you’re tired of contemporaries over summer and want a bit more of a light fairytale- dystopian type novel, the Selection series is perfect. I recently devoured the first four books and am going to read the 5th one as soon as I am able. They’re super easy to read and pull you in really quickly. There are adorable princes, ball gowns, a slight Hunger Games feel, plus lots of rebel action, which makes for a very fun and entertaining summer read.

22892448

You know I can’t resist a sneaky little extra for these posts, and one book that I feel would make the perfect summer read is The Color Project by Sierra Abrams. It comes out in July and I’m going to start reading my ARC copy soon and get a review up for you guys. It sounds like the sweetest contemporary for summer and I definitely recommend checking it out (plus Sierra is such a sweetheart and fangirl. I love her!).

 

That’s it for today’s post, I hope you enjoyed it and let me know in the comments what season you are currently experiencing of some of your summer recommendations!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday May 17th- Fabulous Summer Reads

Leave a Reply

