Goodbye May…

Did I miss a memo? Because it seriously feels like we’ve skipped a month and just gone straight to June, and it does NOT feel like it should be June yet. I’m blaming aliens for how quickly this year is going… Anyways, I’m rambling, today I’m going to do what I do every month and wrap up my reading life and general life in the month of May!

April Wrap-Up

I managed to get two books read in May, which I’m very happy with, given May has been extremely busy and one of the books was huge.

7514925

The first book I read was Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson. I really adored this little retelling and you can find my review for it here.

Unknown

The second book I read this month was my most highly anticipated book of the year, which was of course A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas. This book basically stole my life in May and was everything I wanted it to be and more. It had me laughing and crying and smiling like an idiot because of how perfect it was. I was going to write a review but I forgot to write notes while I was reading, and I think I would probably just word vomit, so that probably won’t happen now.

  

May Book Haul

I actually wish I hadn’t recorded all the books I bought in May because it’s kind of ridiculous and is written proof that I have a book buying problem (but we already knew that anyway). The good thing is a lot of these books I bought for $1.95 from the shop at my hospital, and a lot of the others I bought with vouchers I had, so I hope that means my wallet won’t hate me as much for buying so many.

 

Hospital Shop

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

Time Travelling with a Hamster by Ross Welford

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

A Million Worlds with You by Claudia Gray

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

Invincible by Amy Reed

The Selection Stories by Kiera Cass

 

Bookshops (And The Book Depository)

The Crown by Kiera Cass

Happily Ever After by Kiera Cass

Freeks by Amanda Hocking

Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell

Alice by Christina Henry

Hunted by Meagan Spooner

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

A Court of Thorns and Roses Coloring Book by Sarah J Maas

 

The YA Chronicles ACOWAR Box

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

tumblr_n61nt6mLPg1qky1uso1_500.jpg

 

June TBR

I’m currently reading two books already, the first I’m reading with a group of girls on Bookstagram and that is Hunted by Meagan Spooner. I’m really enjoying this book so far and it’s been so much fun to fangirl about it with other people as I’m reading it.

The second book I’m currently reading is an ARC of The Color Project by Sierra Abrams. It’s absolutely adorable and I can’t wait to get further into it and see what happens.

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 5.57.59 pm.png

These are the only two books that I absolutely want to finish in June, but if I can I would also like to read The Crown by Kiera Cass.

 

 

Spoonie Stuff and Life in May

Quite a bit happened in the month of May, and for the most part a lot of it was exciting!

 

My ACOWAR Box from The YA Chronicles arrived on the release day and I may have been squealing like an idiot when the postman knocked on the door. This box (and the book), really kicked off May with a good start, and if you want to see all the wonderful goodies that were inside it, you can find my unboxing here.

 

I saw Matilda the Musical and was as blown away the second time as I was the first time when I saw it in London three years ago. The music, sets and choreography were absolutely amazing and I can’t believe the talent that all the children have. The story is so beautiful and left me full of lots of smiles and a bit of magic. We also stayed at the hotel where it was playing for the night, so it would be easier with me and my wheelchair, so that added a little bit of extra fun to the night as well.

 

The PACE Pain program I mentioned in my last Wrap- Up started at the beginning of May, and has been running on Tuesdays and Thursdays for the past four weeks. It’s completely exhausted me and has really pushed me both physically and emotionally, but I’m really hoping it will help with my functionality and pain levels. Next week is my last official week, but I’m going to be going back for lots of follow ups, and have quite a few in the three weeks after the program officially ends. The people who run it are so lovely and the group who have been doing it as well are really nice too.

 

I went to a meet and greet at a Peter Alexander Pyjamas store to meet the man himself who started it all. It was such an amazing night, and Peter was so generous with his time and was very happy to talk lots and take lots of pictures. The environment in the store was really lovely and I may have come away with several new pairs of PJs (because how could I not?!).

 

I reached 200 WordPress followers in May and I can’t believe how quickly it happened given I only reached 100 two months ago! Thank you so much to all of you who follow me, it means the world every time I get a new follower notification, and all of your comments and likes make my day.

 

I got some very exciting news towards the end of May that I’m getting a golden retriever puppy! The liter of puppies is currently two weeks old and in a week’s time I get to go and choose which little girl I would like! I’m so incredibly happy that I’m going to have a little bundle of fluff in my home soon again, and I can’t wait to bring her home! I’ll probably be updating regularly here given I can’t contain my excitement!

 

That’s it for my May Wrap Up! I hope you enjoyed hearing about my bookish and life adventures this month, let me know if you did anything exciting in May!

 

One thought on “Goodbye May…

  1. I really want to read The Color Project over the summer!!! Let me know what you think of The Rest of Us Just Live Here. It wasn’t for me, but it was an interesting read nevertheless.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

