Goodbye June…

I can’t believe half of 2017 is already gone??!! How did this happen??!! On one level it’s kind of stressing me out, but on the other it has gone sort of slowly at the same time and I have achieved quite a bit so far in 2017. Plus it is now less than 6 months till Christmas, which may play a part in my okay-ness with the time flying because I friggin love Christmas. Anyways, I’m supposed to be talking about June, so let’s get into this wrap up!

 

June Reading Wrap Up

I am so so pleased with my reading total for June. I actually managed to get through the whole TBR I set for myself at the beginning of the month, plus read a couple of extra books as well, which took my reading total for June to 7 books, so I am very proud of myself (*rewards self by going and buying 20 books*). I loved all the books I read in June, some more than others, and they were:

Cress by Marissa Meyer- Audiobook Reread

Hunted by Meagan Spooner

The Color Project by Sierra Abrams

The Crown by Kiera Cass

This Savage Song by V.E.Schwab

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace

 

 

June Book Haul

 I’m actually so proud of myself for not going crazy on the book buying front this month, and a couple of them were special editions of books I have already read and own, so I’m just adding them to my shelves and not my actual TBR. I did order a couple of books in June that haven’t arrived yet, but in terms of books I physically bought and received in June, I actually only got 7.

Wintersong by S J Jones

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

Lord of Shadows Limited Edition Hardback by Cassandra Clare

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone 20th Anniversary Slytherin Hardback Edition by J.K. Rowling

Empire of Storms Signed First Edition Hardback by Sarah J Maas

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 10.41.22 am
I couldn’t just leave these three beautiful special editions!

 

July TBR

I’m going to keep my TBR for June quite low, since some of the books on my TBR are quite big, but I am of course hoping to read more, these are just the books I really want to get to. As soon as my copy of Our Dark Duet by V.E.Schwab arrives I will be starting that immediately because the ending of This Savage Song left me with so many questions and a lot of heartache. The other two books I would like to knock off my TBR are Nevernight by Jay Kristoff since it’s been on my shelf since it came out, and When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon since I’ve been getting back into contemporaries lately and I’ve heard lots of good things about it. Hopefully I can get through these three this month

 Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 10.44.15 am

 

 

Spoonie Stuff and Life in June

So I was a bit absent from my blog in June, and this is because my health wasn’t doing great at the start of the month anyway, but about halfway through June I had to be rushed to Emergency in an ambulance because I started ‘violently uncontrollably shaking’ and had no control over my body at all. It had been progressively getting worse during the night and got to the point where there was no choice but to go to hospital since we had no idea what was going on. I spent most of the night in emergency while they attempted to bring the shaking down as well as my extremely high temperature and heart rate. I was then admitted for a couple of days since, although the shaking was reduced, it still had not stopped and was causing me an immense amount of pain and discomfort. The doctors never really worked out what was going on, but think that it was just an extension of my other health issues playing up.

 

I am out of hospital now but haven’t stopped shaking since that night so am extremely fatigued and fed up, although I am doing lots of therapy to get me back to where I was. This has meant everything is harder than normal as well as blogging, so it didn’t really happen much at all in June since typing takes so much effort. I am going to try to get posts up in July, since blogging is really the only creative outlet I have that I can actually use at the moment (and even this is much more difficult than normal), but I’m not going to make any promises and it might be a while until I can respond to blog comments, so bare with me.

 

However, there were some good things that happened this month as well!

 

If you didn’t know the 20th anniversary for the book of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’s was this month and was a pretty big deal for myself and the rest of the bookish community. So far I’ve only bought the Slytherin Hardback Anniversary Edition of the book, but who am I kidding, I’m going to end up with all 4 paperbacks and all 4 hardbacks at some point, it’s just a matter of when.

 

I went and visited the litter that my golden retriever puppy is in for the first time when the puppies were three weeks old and they absolutely melted my heart. I then went back and visited when they were five weeks old and actually got to pick which little girl is going to be my Luna. It was really tough since they were all so cute, but there was just something about her that felt like she was mine. It was so hard leaving that visit knowing which pup was mine, and I can’t wait to bring her home!

Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 10.59.13 pm.png
This is Luna when we chose her when she was 5 weeks old!

On the 30th of June my little niece was born and she is such a beautiful little girl. Her name is Emily Ann, and I’m already so in love with her and can’t wait to spend more time with her and see her grow up. I am determined to make sure that she is as much a bookworm as I am!

 

That’s it for my June Wrap Up, I hope you enjoyed this post, and let me know in the comments some of the exciting books you read or things you did in June. Also, let me know what you think of the Philosopher Stone Anniversary Editions and whether or not you’ve bought one or all of the copies!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Goodbye June…

Leave a Reply

